If I were Tim Cook

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by adamfilip, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. adamfilip macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #1
    If I were in control of apple I would

    Make all Mac Book Pro with touchscreen capability

    Purchase Maxon and develop Cinema 4D inhouse

    Purchase Adobe and fix all the apps, get rid of flash

    Produce a New Mac pro.. that can use any PC Video card
    and also make a Mac Pro Mini.. small headless Workstation.
    half the storage, half the size of the current mac pro. still with a i7 6 core CPU, replaceable video card
     
  2. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
  3. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #3
    And that's why Tim Cook is in charge...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #4
    lol oh common.. whats so bad about those ideas
     
  5. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    If I were Tim Cook, what would I do? I’d shut it down and give the money back to the shareholders.


    :p;):cool:
     
  6. bjm2660 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    If I were a Tim Cook,
    Yubby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dibby dum.
    All day long I'd biddy biddy bum.
    If I were a wealthy man.
    I wouldn't have to work hard.
    Ya ha deedle deedle, bubba bubba deedle deedle dum.
    If I were a biddy biddy rich,
    Idle-diddle-daidle-daidle man.
     
  7. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #7
    Well, I don't think the Pro is really targeted at users who'd appreciate a touchscreen. Basically it comes with a trackpad that's as good or better than a touchscreen anyway.

    Cinema 4d isn't a core application that lots of people need.

    Adobe develops primarily for Windows. Apple's Windows development (i.e. iTunes, Bonjour, iCloud) is primarily targeted towards letting Windows users make use of their Apple hardware.

    "Any" video card means developing lots of drivers or worse, relying on the manufacturer to make them. I have a Dell monitor that displays 2560 x 1440, but I could never run it in Windows higher than 1080p because the driver sucked - text was unreadable. No problems using the monitor in OSX though - and no problem running Windows at 2560 x 1440 through RDP.

    Mac Pro mini actually intrigues me, but I don't think the market is there for it.
     
  8. MorphingDragon macrumors 603

    MorphingDragon

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    The World Inbetween
    #8
    If I were Tim Cook I would buy a underwear cannon and surprise unsuspecting victims.
     
  9. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #9


    C4D is used by alot of people.. I bet it used by more people than use Logic Pro

    Adobe makes lots for Windows I understand.. thats why its perfect.. im sure adobe has alot of patents.. buy adobe.. and phase out the windows versions slowly or update the mac versions twice as fast.. its a win win for mac marketshare.. and sue those that try to develop for windows..

    with video cards. Apple video cards have special firmware for no good reason. I have a hackintosh with a PC videocard and it runs really well.
    there is no reason for these cards to not be available for an upgrade.. yes only if there are drivers.. but if they are just labeled with a driver available for mac then great..
     
  10. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #10
    Well that seems petty and frankly just bad business. If it's already strong on the Windows platform, why wouldn't you just keep that up and develop for OSX at the same time.
     
  11. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #11
    Funny you say that.. as thats kinda what Adobe seems to be doing with the Mac platform.

    sometimes it seems like it doesnt care about Mac.
     
  12. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #12
    They're paying attention to the platform that serves them best. They're an independent company and have no obligation to develop for OSX (even though they do). What exactly have they done to the Apple platform to show they don't care anyway?
     
  13. NewbieCanada macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    #13
    Adobe's annual revenue is 3 billion.

    Apple's is 108 billion. Apple buying them and crippling Windows development would do nothing for their bottom line and damage their reputation.

    Maxon claims 80,000 users worldwide for all their products. It's an extremely niche product, even more so than Adobe's.

    If you're thinking of things for Apple to buy you're thinking of things that are below their radar. Instead think "France. Designed in California by Apple."
     
  14. adamfilip thread starter macrumors 6502a

    adamfilip

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2003
    Location:
    burlington, Ontario canada
    #14
    One example
    is that Photoshop CS6 will be 64bit only with support for 32bit version for Mac, removed

    but for windows both 32bit and 64bit is supported
     
  15. boss.king macrumors 68040

    boss.king

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #15
    I don't see how that's even a problem.
     
  16. noisycats macrumors 6502a

    noisycats

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Location:
    The 'ham. Alabama.
    #16
    Love this idea!
     
  17. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #18
    Resume development of Final Cut Pro 8.

    Bring back Shake.

    Make a Mac Pro with 6 PCI slots and 10 drive bays.

    One can dream...:(
     
  18. Confuzzzed macrumors 68000

    Confuzzzed

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #19
    If I were Tim Cook I would hire me!! And put me in charge of the newly founded medical applications division
     
  19. luke.mac1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    If I were Tim Cook I sure as hell wouldn't be working anymore... prob just jet off to some Caribbean Island or something. I can but dream! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page