If set-up screen appears - does that mean data is deleted?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Newjackboy, Jun 13, 2016.

  1. Newjackboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    I have just sold my Macbook Pro. I used Migration Assistant to transfer to my new mac which went fine.
    I did the usual signout of icloud, imessages, deauthorise itunes etc..

    Then used Disk Utility to erase (which took only about a minute for 100GB of data!) and selected to reinstall el capitan (which took about an hour)

    Just before selling, the mac loaded to the set up screen (e.g. enter your country, keyboard selection)

    Does that mean all my data was successfully deleted?
     
  2. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #2
    Yes, but unless you used a secure option to erase by writing zeros, or unless your drive is an SSD, the data could still be recovered using data recovery software.
     
  3. Newjackboy thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #3
    Thank you. Yes I had an SSD. Couldn't find the secure erase option.
     
  4. JohnDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    #4
    If you had an SSD, that option won't be there and according to Apple, is not necessary.
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    The OS X system won't let you choose the secure erase option on an SSD.
    Unless you are one of the truly paranoid (or you sold your old Mac to a black-hat group :D ) as the new owner uses your old Mac, writing new data to the drive, your old data will very quickly be unretrievable through any practical method.
     

Share This Page