If someone can solve this problem you are a genius!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DeanCorp, Jul 13, 2007.

  1. DeanCorp macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I have been trying to run bootcamp for ages. I am getting quite frustrated. It says it won't load until I have the ROM Firmware at B03. Mine is currently B02.

    I have downloaded the EFI firmware update and it says after completing the firmware upgrade my ROM should be at B03.
    I downloaded it and tried to run the package and I get this error "Alert . This computer does not need this update." BUT IT DOES!!
    It won't let me do anything in terms of updating the ROM.

    I already have an EFI update in Applications>Utilities called "Macbook EFI Firmware Update" and "Macbook SMC Firmware Update" and they both say it is the current version.

    I really just want to get this up and running.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.

    I have tried calling apple technical support, they just tell me they don't know but I should buy AppleCare warrenty so my issue can be moved higher up the qualification order.

    The only way I can get around this issue is to install the version 1 of Bootcamp to create the partition and install windows. Then install the latest version->show package contents and mount the image using disk utility to give me the latest drivers. However, I would love to be able to do it the proper way as it is getting on my nerves! This has been going on for about 3 months and I can't get to the bottom of it :mad: I have googled and been able to find no solution just thought I would ask you gurus on here.

    Thanks

    DeanCorp
     
  2. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #2
  3. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for the prompt reply. I tried the only one that is available "MacBook EFI Firmware Update 1.0" I also tried that restoration several times before realising it will only revert to an older firmware if the current firmware is corrupt. My firmware however is not corrupt rather outdated but cannot allow me to update to B03. Do you see how wierd it is :p

    DeanCorp
     
  4. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #4
    **** sorry, for a moment I thought you had a MBP so I was wondering which version.

    Hmm, odd. Didn't think that would happen with the restoration cd, oh well.

    You mentioned the hack, is there no way you could do it? :p 3 months, 3 months...
     
  5. Ladybug macrumors 65816

    Ladybug

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #5
  6. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #6
    Nope :p The only hack I want to do is hack this macbook in half it is so annoying this little rom update issue

    More suggestions or advice needed :D

    DeanCorp
     
  7. FuzzyinLondon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    #7
    Receipts

    One thing I would try is to delete any receipts that might exist for such updates in the Library>Receipts folder. I've had similar problems re-installing updates if receipts for them already existed in this folder. It's worth a try. It's probably called MacBookEFIUpdate1.x.pkg or something similar.
     
  8. beginner0 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    #8
    Why do you need to buy the Applecare warranty when (from what I understand) your computer is within a year old and the default warranty should still cover it?
     
  9. lordjonny macrumors regular

    lordjonny

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #9
    try and get to a genius bar those guys are quite helpful and i have had work done without any problem, they might just replace parts for you which is always nice lol
     
  10. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #10
    Not there :(
    I have tried a fresh install, i even tried leopard same error!
    We don't have a mac genius bar in Australia (at least I don't think we do).

    Keep the ideas coming...I just want to know that I have done everything in my power to get it to work. My macbook is no longer under warranty (expired July 11) lol

    DeanCorp
     
  11. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #11
    bump to the top of the list :p
    More suggestions please! I know you guys can get the solution I have faith in you all its just a matter of who is going to be the "genius" first!

    Thanks
    DeanCorp
     
  12. Ladybug macrumors 65816

    Ladybug

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #12
  13. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #13
    No this will not work as my current firmware is not corrupt it is just outdated.

    DeanCorp
     
  14. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #14
    So do you all give up? None of you can help me with my little problem!? I have only been able to find 2 other people in the whole world who have the exact same situation. One of which I have been able to contact and he has taken his into an apple store and am waiting for his response.

    DeanCorp
     
  15. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  16. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #16
    Yes. I even tried updating the firmware in Leopard still same error message being thrown back at me.

    The only other possible solution would be to find someway to corrupt my current EFI firmware then use the restoration cd to revert it and try and update it to B03 after.

    DeanCorp
     
  17. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    Did this all happen after installing Leopard? Remember it is still in beta.
     
  18. DeanCorp thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    #19
    Nope I tried that "Alert: This update is not needed"
    I have some reason to believe that this is due to a particular revision of the logic board. I remember I did get my logic board replaced about 6 months ago. Perhaps that has something to do with it as my Serial Number is no longer displayed in About This Mac even though that has nothing to do with this situation.

    DeanCorp
     

Share This Page