If u had this config would you upgrade to RMBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by echo44, Jun 13, 2012.

  1. echo44 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    I have a macpro lap top I bought early 2011
    2.3 ghz 8 G of ram and here is the kicker I added a
    480gb 6G mercury ssd, I am thinking of going to the maxed
    out RMBP 16 g ram 2.7 what do you think? I really like a high resolution
    display as I do a lot with images for work. Think ill notice the speed difference?
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    It's unlikely you'll notice much of a difference, if any, in performance. It really depends on how much you tax your current system.
     
  3. Astroboy907 macrumors 65816

    Astroboy907

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Location:
    Spaceball One
    #3
    Well, that would be worth keeping, as mine is still C2D.

    Try going to a store and comparing a retina model vs. an older model (hi-res if they have it), and see how you like it.
     
  4. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #4
    Doubt that you would notice a performance difference since you already have a pretty up to date machine with an SSD.

    The main reason to upgrade would be the display, so check one out in person in the store.
     
  5. mohsy90 macrumors 65816

    mohsy90

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Location:
    New York
    #5
    That's a considerable upgrade...price wise. $1200 MBP to a higher retina at $2800. It doesn't seem like you need it, but I guess if you're drooling over the display and want to dish out the cash, go ahead. Just make sure to sell your current MBP, you should be able to get $900 for it easily.

    You're current configuration is very updated and you won't really notice a considerably difference performance wise.
     
  6. echo44 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #6
    thanks
    i would do it for the screen but it seems from what
    i have read there are issue with scrolling and speed of rendering
    i hope its a software/ driver fix rather than under spec graphics card
     
  7. NZed macrumors 65816

    NZed

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Location:
    Canada, Eh?
    #7
    At least you have something thats a next gen core.

    Im still stuck with a C2D, but this is all I need, so I'm pretty happy.
     

Share This Page