If you had a million dollars, could you theoretically...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by HappyDude20, Sep 13, 2012.

1. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

HappyDude20

..make more money with it, without working?

It was a stark thought earlier when I thought, say you just got a million bucks. Wouldn't you be able to put that million bucks a CD account, and earn a good amount from it? Without having to work?

When this thought came to mind I assumed rates today would be like 3%, but after a quick google search saw they range with CDs from 1.03%-1.29%, depending on how long you leave it there.

But even with that, say 1%, with a million bucks that $10,000 a year. Not much actually, but still something. And then you take that money out at the end of the year and put it back in the CD; or take the 10k out if the CD is like a 3-5 year term, assuming you a CD that can do that. I'm just a student thinking here. Also wondering (answer is probably yes) if you have to pay taxes on that interest you make?

Any other ways that your money can make money for you? Im not even close to being a millionaire, a college student debt actually but still fun to think about how to do this.

2. justinmancini macrumors newbie

If you can live on $10,000 a year.. Lol

That being said, multiply that by 5.. $50,000 a year for doing nothing..

But would you really want to live the life of someone who brings in 50k a year, when you have 5 million in the bank?

3. Dagless macrumors Core

Dagless

Depends what you want to do with it.
    My parents have a lot in the bank but don't live lavishly. They just use their money to invest in local businesses, that sort of thing. So long that you're comfortable it shouldn't matter how much you spend on living.

4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

Safe withdrawal rate is 4% if you have 75% in SPY and 25% in Treasuries. Backtesting this has survived the Great Depression and the Great Recession... just. So your answer is $40,000.00.