If you needed to store 10 Tbs x 3, how would you?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by chambord, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. chambord macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2012
    #1
    Hi all,

    If you needed to store 10 terrabytes in triplicate, how would you? Would you 3 x whatever cheap way to store it? Or would you have a complicated scheme?
     
  2. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    More info please. Storing 10TB in triplicate ain't cheap no matter how you look at it. What's your data requirements as far as reliabilty, accessibility, recoverability? Local, off-site, cloud storage requirements?
     
  3. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    All three compies constantly mounted and on like....like in RAID 1? Of two copies on line and a third off line (and maybe remote) for safety?
     
  4. Acari macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #4
    Pardon my French, but what the **** do you need 10TB for? o_O :apple:
     
  5. Ifti macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    This would all depend on budget and the importancey of the data.
    If its mission critical and budget is flexible then I would go for the following:

    Copy 1:
    A 5 bay NAS unit filled with 3TB drives in RAID. Should give around 12TB of useable space after RAID5 configuration.
    Data is accessible remotely if need be.

    Copy 2:
    5 Bay Expansion Unit connected directly to the above.
    Again filled with 5x 3TB drives in RAID5.
    Connected directly via eSATA.
    Backup schedule set so backup runs frequently to keep a local copy of all the data.
    See my YouTube videos and search for the Synology DX510 for a demo.

    Copy 3:
    This needs to be remote in case the above are destroyed by fire etc.
    Another 5 Bay NAS - same unit as in Copy 1.
    Same setup as Copy 1.
    NAS from copy 1 set to automatically backup to the remote NAS.
    This keeps a copy of all data in a seperate location.

    The above is all easily possible using Synology (also probably QNAP) units.
    Again, it's not cheap but you didn't give an idea of budget.

    I've covered a fair bit of this setup in my YouTube channel if you wanted some more ideas etc ;)
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Build 3 file servers.

    Run 3 10TB arrays.

    Have them in different locations.
     

Share This Page