If you order a machine with software pre-installed, do you still get a disc as well?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Whackintosh, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    And you can still sell the software assuming you remove it off your machine first.
     
  3. maxap macrumors 6502

    maxap

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
  4. clearchaos macrumors regular

    clearchaos

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
  5. Eanair macrumors 6502

    Eanair

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #6
    Yep. :)

    I got my new iMac with iLife 09, and I have an iLife 09 disk I can use to put the software back on it should I ever need to start from scratch again.
     
  6. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #7
    I opened up my mini last night and it came with a little carton called "Mac Stuff". Your reinstall DVDs and such are included. Yes it includes Leopard.
     
  7. gasport macrumors 6502

    gasport

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    #8
    This is another reason to switch to a Mac..... Trying to reinstall Windows is a horror show..... Apple makes it so easy.... ;)
     
  8. txnoob macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #9

    I don't know about a horrow show. I've done it so many times it's second nature. But I've never found it to be anything but straight forward. Granted I've had it fail a few times. I've only reinstalled OS X on 2 Macs and didn't think one was more dificult than the other.
     
  9. Old Mac Geezer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    #10
    I don't know if you would get a retail disc, but I would be plenty mad if I bought a new Mac and didn't get at least a restore disc with it. :mad:
     
  10. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #11

    Hmmmm, I got an iMac last weekend and it only has 2 disks, the OS and an application disk, no separate iLife disk.
     
  11. pinchy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #12
    That's strange... did you order from the online store or buy it retail?
     
  12. shinchan72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #13
    Ilife is on the application disk , always been this way.
     

Share This Page