if you take it ..your are one your own buddy

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by siam, Nov 7, 2007.

1. siam macrumors regular

I am about to buy my first ever Apple Mac ( iMac ) when the current freezing / screen problems have been resolved
    as a total newbie to the world of Mac's , I would like to walk into the Apple Store, and buy the machine
    at the same time get the shop to set up the machine I am buying so it can be checked out .

The reason I am concerned about checking the new iMac out in the store is that
    its a well known fact that '' customer services '' is not regarded highly here in Thailand
    and I see many instances where the customer has been totally let down by so called
    warranties and guarantees , from the smallest retailer to major Thai based International
    companies . There’s numerous forums here in Thailand that show the vast number of
    complaints , some related to Apple Suppliers, the norm here in Thailand seems to be if you take it
    out of the shop , you are on your own buddy. I am not saying all Thai Apple suppliers are
    Letting down their customers, but the complaints show many are.

So my main concern is that knowing when I do buy my new iMac , once I leave the
    apple Store , and may be have a problem , the chances of the apple Store being willing to offer what’s only
    considered by others as a normal response of yes sir just bring it in so we can look and help put any
    problems right , may well be missing here in Thailand . One problem here is that when you are
    purchasing any thing from a computer to a car the Thai way of selling has only one route .. Just tell the customer
    what he wants to hear and forget about the actual facts, So when I ask the Apple sales person .. any problems I can
    bring it back ... ? Yes Sir you can , but the reality is more like .. ive got a problem with my new iMac.. can you