If your MacBook stops responding during setup (from Apple)

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tom vilsack, Apr 22, 2015.

  1. tom vilsack macrumors 68000

    tom vilsack

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Location:
    ladner cdn
  2. TheBuffather macrumors 6502

    TheBuffather

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #2
    Interesting. While I didn't experience this during setup, their "support" page will really give fire to people saying it's an underpowered machine that can't even set itself up properly.
     
  3. Dennison macrumors regular

    Dennison

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    I definitely experienced this.

    I had to perform two reboots during my setup process. It was the worst setup I've experienced on any Mac or computer. Definitely discouraging when you get a brand new computer and you already feel like it's freezing up and needs to be rebooted constantly...

    Luckily after setup and FireWall were done, I finally got to enjoy the machine. And enjoying it I sure am, without further problems like this.

    "If your MacBook stops responding and shows a spinning wheel after you create a user account in Setup Assistant, simply allow setup to continue. The setup process will resume after about 30 minutes."

    What?! So when my new MacBook got the spinning wheel and I waited for two minutes for a response, I was supposed to wait another 28 minutes? That's just asinine.
     
  4. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #4
    "You can avoid this delay if you complete Setup Assistant without connecting to the Internet. When Setup Assistant prompts you to select your Wi-Fi network, click Continue without selecting a network."

    That is exactly what I did. No beachballs and no hang ups.
     
  5. legioxi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    #5
    It's related to something on Apple's server side, which is why disabling wifi will miraculously remove the issue.
     
  6. newellj macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Location:
    Boston, MA, US
    #6
    Yeah. Way to go, Apple. :(
     
  7. Asthmatic Kitty macrumors member

    Asthmatic Kitty

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #7
    thanks for posting this! going to save a lot of headaches when mine finally arrives :)
     
  8. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #8
    I skipped connecting to WiFi during setup and it worked perfectly fine, no hang up.
     
  9. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    This is what I plan on doing when I receive mine today.
     
  10. Abbas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai
    #10
    How does that work with using your iCloud account to log on to your Mac then? I remember setting up my rMBP and after that, I just use my iClod ID and password to log on to my Mac. Can you set that up once you've done the initial setup offline?
     
  11. SusanK macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #11


    Maybe that's why TC is only releasing one Macbook at a time :)
     
  12. gmanist1000 macrumors 68030

    gmanist1000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    #12
    Yes. Basically once you've created your account, you'll connect to Wi-Fi like you normally would, then you just go into System Preferences > iCloud, then sign into your account and enable everything from there. Everything should sync after that.
     
  13. Abbas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Dubai
    #13
    Syncing yes, I realise that's the case, but can you use your iCloud account to log into the computer?
     

Share This Page