If you've got 2wire wireless problems (Won't connect)...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Muncher, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I just went though this recently with my new mac, and thougt I'd post the solution: when entering the WEP key to connect, if it doesn't work normally, type a dollar sign in front of the wep key itself. Keep trying, it might not work the first time, but it should work. Out-of-the-box. Yeah, right. :p
     
  2. kerotab macrumors member

    kerotab

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #2
    doesn't work for me. I've had this problems for a while and I've tried EVERYTHING from here http://forums.macosxhints.com/showthread.php?t=63760

    But still it doesn't work. I'm currently using an Ethernet connection with my C2D macbook. I know the airport on my mac works because I'm able to connect wirelessly at my sister's house and on campus. I think my only solution is to get a new router, but I don't think it's fair for me to buy a new one when it's AT&T's fault for not making their routers more compatible for macs =(
     
  3. Muncher thread starter macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #3
    maybe you should try rebooting before you try?
     
  4. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #4
    What 2wire router is it, it should work no matter what 2wire router it is anyway. I've had my Mac hooked up to a 1800 and 2700 and works no problem.

    I've never had to put in the $ before the key.

    I have also found glitches with the password for the wireless on the router. I had to reset it back to default and put in my own pass before it would accept it.
     
  5. kerotab macrumors member

    kerotab

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #5
    I've tried resetting the router and rebooting my laptop and nothing. I have a 2wire 1800. tried $ and doesn't work. tried changing password and a bunch of other stuff, but nothing.
     
  6. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    Use WPA and you won't have this problem, and you'll be more secure ;)
     
  7. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #7
    I don't know what to suggest then, all that I can say was anytime I used the $ before the key it never worked. So it seems useless. I've got a total of 5 different routers and not one would accept $. It would only take the proper password.

    However, I don't use WEP. I always use WPA if I go wireless but even when I had ran WEP like years ago it just would not take the $ before the key.

    So it should work, you could have mistyped it. It's a possibility, as it has happened to me before with the 1800 as well as the 2700.
     
  8. kerotab macrumors member

    kerotab

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #8
    nah i've typed it in correctly and it still doesn't work.

    I'm gonna try the WPA security. The thing that's really confusing is that even without any security, I still can't connect. >_<
     
  9. kerotab macrumors member

    kerotab

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #9
    Got my wireless to work again! I didn't change the password to WPA tho. All I did was under the "wireless security" drop down menu, I chose "WEP 40/128-bit hex" instead of "WEP password". I didn't even need the $. It's kinda weird tho because I could have sworn I've tried that before and it didn't work. Now it did.

    go figure =)
     

Share This Page