iFuntastic - Ringtone APP is out !!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dominatrix, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. dominatrix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #1
  2. MacUser4_20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Thank you, old way was working like a champ for me, it will be interesting to see how this goes :)
     
  3. jbomber macrumors 6502a

    jbomber

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn - NYC
  4. alabare macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
  5. jbomber macrumors 6502a

    jbomber

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Location:
    Brooklyn - NYC
    #5
    LOL!
     
  6. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #6
    i dont see why this wouldnt work with PPC....
     
  7. Djmx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
  8. billchase2 macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #8
    seriously... will ANYONE make something for PPC users?? :mad:
     
  9. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #9
    if you want it so bad make it yourself! :eek:
     
  10. dominatrix thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #10
    or an easier way: buy a new mac. :p:apple::D
     
  11. billchase2 macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #11
    if i could afford one... trust me, i would!
     
  12. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
    #12
    This one looks good too.
    I downloaded the Efiko, which was super simple; edit, and send 2 or 3 steps.
    It took me a little while to figure out how to use is as it is a PC app, so I had to run parallels, but once I figured it out it has worked great.
     
  13. monke macrumors 65816

    monke

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #13
    1) I don't have the time.
    2) Isn't that what developers for?

    Heck I'd buy a new one too.

    It's just not feesable to buy a new Mac everytime the processor changes though.
     
  14. ichii macrumors 6502a

    ichii

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    #14
    I got to step 4 "put the phone into recovery mode" but I just get the pinwheel, could I skip that step? since it has a box to skip it.
     
  15. illegalprelude macrumors 68000

    illegalprelude

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #15
    because everybody is a developer -_-
     
  16. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #16
    Very simple and easy directions to follow. iFuntastic worked on my iPhone. The only hang-up I had was Step 6....and I had to actually do this twice before all the ringtones that were already on the iPod appeared and it let me select them and proceed to Step 7. The process took about 2 minutes for me. I now have alot of 30-second-or-less-chosen-snippets from songs in my iTunes library as ringtones on my iPhone.

    Though the creating MP3's from iTunes-through Garageband process took me an hour :)
     
  17. bdj21ya macrumors 6502a

    bdj21ya

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #17
    This is looking better. I'll give it a try this evening after work. Thanks for the great instructions and app!
     
  18. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #18
    Hey, its basically only 3 CPU architecture changes in 23 years, so not that bad! :)
     
  19. dominatrix thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #19
    not only looking, but its so much easier and simple to do.. i would say anyone can try this without any problems, just follow the steps carefully. :p
     
  20. roland.g macrumors 603

    roland.g

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Location:
    One mile up and soaring
    #20
    I thought at least with the process, maybe with the software too, you use aac files not mp3, and I don't know how well garageband does as an editor, I always use Audion out of Toast to edit files down to what I want and then pull them back into iTunes and convert them from within there to aac. My Nokia 8801 used aac for ringtones but I haven't created any for my iPhone yet. Though I may have to to a. make some louder ones, b. use some cool songs, and c. replace some of the alert noises like for voicemail and texts messages and other alerts to something I will actually hear, as well as d. put something on there worth using for an alarm tone.
     
  21. bdj21ya macrumors 6502a

    bdj21ya

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #21
    So, correct me if I'm wrong, but this doesn't allow you to change the ringtones for individual people. If that's the case, then it's still worthless to me. I set the ringtones in the contacts, but it still just ignores them. I finally decided it wasn't worth it and restored my iPhone.
     
  22. TheBusDriver macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    #22
    Works for me, I love it lots.
     
  23. AJsAWiz macrumors 68040

    AJsAWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #23
    I tend to agree with you. Being able to add ringtones is nice but not being able to attach them to contacts doesn't make this worth my while. I'll wait and see if or what Apple does with ringtones :apple:
     
  24. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #24
    Both mp3 and aac work. GarageBand works great as an editor......and I'm being pretty picky about the 30 second snippets I pull from my songs. So far I've added around 30 songs to my iPhone and 10 to my wifes. I did mp3 first as I was unsure about what the stock ringtones were, but after realizing they were aac I then began using aac as I can "share"/export a song out of GarageBand in the aac (m4a) format. They are definitely louder than the stock 'tones. I had my ringer turned up before, now it's set on "3" for ringer volume.

    I have merely put these in as ringtones that I am using for my contacts....and it works great. Someday I'll have a different song for each contact and each group (friends, family, work, etc.) will have a different song from the same band to help me identify without looking :)
     
  25. Jovian9 macrumors 68000

    Jovian9

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    Planet Zebes
    #25
    What issue are you having with ringtonese for individual people? All I do is go to the contact, select 'edit', go to 'ringtone', and then pick one. Back out and save it.
     

Share This Page