ignorance isnt always bliss...

Discussion in 'iMac' started by decateur85, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. decateur85 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #1
    Hello all. Im new to posting here, but ive had my iMac since 07.

    Its running a little slow. I'm ignorant when it comes to computers and terms, so if answering a question, it would be awesome if you would 'talk stupid' to me. =)


    Ok, I have:

    Model Name: Mac
    Model Identifier: iMac5,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 1.83 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache (per processor): 2 MB
    Memory: 512 MB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: IM52.0090.B09
    SMC Version: 1.6f0


    I have A LOT of pictures in iphoto, and no way to back anything up (umm, have no idea how).

    I would like to buy more memory, bc in the near future i plan on getting into photography, but would like to keep the current mac.

    Any other things you can provide me... information wise. Would be GREAT! lol
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Get more memory. 2x 1GB sticks of 667MHz DDR2.

    Buy an external HD, 1TB drives can be had for ~$100 now.
     
  4. decateur85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #4
    lol, thank you for your speedy replies...


    what the ******* is RAM?! lmfao. Seriously, i see everywhere, "upgrade ram", but... how? what do i look for?

    I plan on searching Ebay, but I dont know... what to search for... and how to make sure it will be for me? (same as with the memory)
     
  5. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
  6. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #6
    Random Access Memory - Same as memory
     
  7. decateur85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #7
    ok, so its the same as memory.... so i only need to get more of one of them? or both. lol. I know absolutely NOTHING about this part of computers.

    so..If i was to buy this... RAM, as you call it, lol, what exactly EXACTLY would i search for? lol
     
  8. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    True, but I believe when the OP talks about 'memory' the OP is actually referring to storage.

    OP: You need more storage AND more RAM. Get more RAM, have someone knowledgeable help you upgrade it. Get an external hard drive and get that person to teach you how to hook it up.
     
  9. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #9
    You need PC2-5300 DDR2 Memory
    Your system only supports up to 2.0 Gigabytes (about 4 times what you have currently)
    You only have two slots for RAM - so if you want 2 Gigabytes of RAM you need to buy 2 pieces of 1 Gigabyte RAM
    Search for the type listen above that is what you need

    I believe this is the right one
    http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-240-pin-PC2-5300-memory-module/dp/B0006I1TRY
     
  10. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #10
    Original poster... look at the first reply to your post... by Eidorian... notice the word RAM is blue.. click on it.. it will take you to a memory site.
     
  11. decateur85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #11
    ok. THANK YOU!! Im getting it. Slowly, but its getting there!



    ok, so, were military, stationed in a crappy little town in NM, and, I know noone with a mac. Or knowlege of anything other than ...windows :eek:, so, how would i go about finding someone who is knowledgeable enough to help me/teach me, or how could I teach myself?
     
  12. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Stick around here ... take a look at my videos in the link below.
     
  13. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #13
    Phillips screw driver and towel.
     
  14. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #14
    You could teach yourself it would just take some time to fully understand everything...you can look up articles and youtube clips on how to install RAM onto your computer. As for finding someone... you could go around asking everyone if they use a mac lol.
     
  15. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #15
    someone link him to ifix it

    im too lazy too lol
     
  16. decateur85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
  17. decateur85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #17
    Her actually, :D
     
  18. decateur85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #18
    http://www.patriotpc.us/Memory-RAM/DDR2-SDRAM/1-GB-1.9-GB/pc/i/210/c/2EK77701_3EE05004

    sort by lowest price... please.


    Whats all that extra junk in the title bar?? Like: 200-pin, 240-pin, cl5, 1.8v, and the ghz??


    Like, i dont need to know, nessisarily WHAT they are, but more, what is better, and will any of them go with MY mac? or is that something that i have to look at before I buy, to be sure it will work with MY mac?


    (Sorry for all the stupid questions, but thank you all for being soooo kind).
     
  19. Sedulous macrumors 68000

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    #19
    People suggested that you go to crucial.com because the site selects only compatible memory based on the exact computer you want. Otherwise, you need to learn more about the details of "RAM" types.
     
  20. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #20
    Ok here is the link to the apple website telling you what RAM you have:
    http://support.apple.com/kb/SP28
    The ram is 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM (PC2-5300)
    That is 200pin ram
     
  21. decateur85 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    #21
    um, my bad. When I typed in that site, i typed in crutial.com. Which had computer type thing on it, but i was confused, bc it was nothing I needed.


    I just went to the right one, and it walked me right through it. Thank you!lol.
     
  22. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #22
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/53DR2SPAIR2G/

    200-pin is just the pin count on the memory. Has nothing to do with performance.
     
  23. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #23
    RAM aside, if you are unsure of how to backup your data I recommend you go out and buy a large external usb hard drive and let TimeMachine do the work for you (if you are running Leopard anyways).
     

Share This Page