iPod Touch iJailBreak for 1.1.4 Released, Jailbreak in 2 min!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Pedgie06, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. Pedgie06 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    #1
    iJailBreak.com has released a jailbreak that will work for 1.1.4. Even better it will allow you to jailbreak 1.1.4 from 1.1.4! You don’t have to downgrade and then upgrade back up. The only catch here is that since it uses the ZiPhone jailbreaking method it is only supported on the 8GB iPod Touch. Of course this hasn’t stopped some with 16GB touches from giving it a try (and sometimes, yes, it actually does work!).

    So if you have an 8GB iPod Touch or if you’re willing to give it a try on your 16GB version, click this link. Keep in mind that this version does not install the App Pack, so you will have to get that as well.

    The process is very easy and the program will guide you all the way to the end. But if for some reason you can’t get it to Jailbreak 1.1.4 on your iPod Touch, post your problem here.

    http://lonman06.com/2008/03/01/ipod...ur-8gb-ipod-touch-on-114-might-work-for-16gb/
     
  2. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #2
    you seriously couldnt have posted this like 2 hours ago? i just had to go through the WHOLE process....

    oh well, it was worth it..
     
  3. Pedgie06 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    #3
    LOL, I'll have to work on my timing. But at least you got it done either way!
     
  4. lesouvage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #4
    ijailbrake and 1.1.3

    I have messed up my iPhone several times and get it back in business by getting the phone in DFU mode and install a new image of 1.1.3 on the phone downloaded from http://www.iphoneclub.nl/forum/f1/i...2-firmware.html#Uitgebrachte_firmware-versies (it is a Dutch website but the download links are clear) using the function key while clicking on the restore icon of iTunes.

    I restart my macbook (don't know why but without restarting iJailbrake doesn't start properly I found out) and then with 2 clicks I unlock and unjail the fresh 1.1.3 version on my iPhone with iJailbrake in about three minutes. Another 20 minutes to sync (as a new phone) with iTunes and I'm ready to make new mistakes. I haven't tested this but I assume that it works this way with any of the firmware versions supported by iJailbrake.

    With the installer I have my favorite apps back in a couple of minutes transforming the iPhone from a smartphone with nice features to a multi featured device with the phone as just one of the apps.
     
  5. ViP3r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #5
    And all this needs is 1.1.3??

    Is it an actuall JAILBREAK or just a soft update?


    Whats the catch???
     
  6. matthewr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    #6
    Didnt work on my 16 gb touch

    I tried this on my new 16 GB touch (I was lured in by the apparent simplicity) but it didn't work. I got the BSD root error and had to restore my touch. Oh well, not sure how much I would have used the jb anyway. I can definitely wait until it is updated to work with the larger touches.
     
  7. opivy1218 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    #7
    BSD Root Error or something

    I tried doing this but messed up. Now on my ipod it says like "BSD Root: Md0, major 2, minor 0"
    If anyone can give me help on how to fix this i would greatly appreciate it.
    And i did try connecting it to itunes but nothing works. PLEASE HELP!
     
  8. brian9271 macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #8
    Here, follow these instructions - To "unbrick" an iPod Touch or iPhone, use the below instructions:

    To restore your iPhone or iPod Touch, hold down the Power and Home buttons on the device until the Apple logo appears on the screen, at which point you can let go of the Power button-- but keep holding the Home button. When you see the "Connect to iTunes" logo appear, you may let go of the Home button, connect your device to your computer, and use iTunes to restore.
     
  9. atthecross macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #9
    I get the connect to iTunes logo, but my iTunes says there's an error and it won't connect in order to restore it
     
  10. brian9271 macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #10
    What kind of error was it? What did it say?
     
  11. brian9271 macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #11
    Hey when I restored my Ipod Touch, I can't seem to sync photo's from IPhoto but I can sync Photo Booth, any help here would be nice, thanks.
     
  12. Pedgie06 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    #12
    This works 100% on the 8 gig, but it doesn't seem to work on all 16gb touches. It's weird, it seems like it is just pure luck on whose will work..
     
  13. lienly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    Taipei, TW
    #13
    b/c fail on native v1.1.3 8G touch by the method I jailbroken 16G native v1.1.2 touch, I want to try this iJailBreak0.5.4. but how to use it???

     
  14. swearbymac07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #14
    Info

    iJailbreak 0.5.4 is for Mac OS X Only sorry.
     
  15. brian9271 macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #15
    I just used iNdependence 1.4 beta 5, so I perform Jailbreak, and then it says "Error, couldn't download firmware file", then I click Ok, then it says "Failed, RAM disk creation failed. Would you like to try again?" Then I click Yes and then it fails again and the message comes up. What does this mean?
     
  16. lesouvage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #16
    dfu mode when restoring iphone

    There is a difference between dfu mode and restore mode. Below is a translation of the Dutch instruction from the site I mentioned how to get the iphone in dfu mode. dfu mode results in a more complete restore then just restore mode.
    <<<<<<<<

    The recovery mode is de most popular method to restore an iPhone using iTunes. DFU mode is another, more powerful mode then the ordinary recovery mode. The difference is that with DFU mode the already available pre-loader on the iPhone is not used. Instead of that the preloader that is part of the restore package is used.

    Because of this it is possible to restore iPhones who normally boots up with errors like "Error 01 (unknown error). This is a well known problem with a restore operation from 1.1.3 to 1.1.1.

    How to activate DFU mode ?

    1. Connect your iPhone to your Mac or PC and be sure that iTunes is running.

    2. Press the "home button" en "power button" at the same time.

    3. Wait until the "shutdown slider" appears, but hold buttons for another 4 or 5 seconds. The iPhone will shot down completely.

    4. Release the power buttom but hold the "home button" down.
    There will be no apple logo on the screen. If this is the case you hold the "power button" to long and you have to repeat the procedure starting at step 1

    5. Wait 5 to 10 seconds, iTunes will let you know that it find an iPhone in "restore mode"

    This is a misleading message. If you use growl (just a translation I have no experience with this program) on your MAC you can see that this message is not completely correct because the message is that a "DFU mode USB device " has been detected.

    After this you can restore the firmware of your choice using iTunes restore btton and the function (key with alt, between ctrl; and cmd on the left side of the space bar) key on your MAC. With pressing the function keay while clicking the restore button you can choose the image you downloaded from your own harddisk and this image will be installed on your iPhone.
    >>>>>>>>>>

    After the restore operation (that takes a while) the iTunes error message has dissapeared and iTunes is complaining that the Phone has to be registered. This is because the iPhone is still locked and jailed.

    restart your MAC (no idea why but it helped, otherwise there is an apple script message on the screen about a missing firmware version variable value) and use iJailbrake to unlock and/or jailbrake your iPhone. After that close down iJailbrake.

    Connect the iPhone to Itunes and pick the "new phone" option otherwise there is a change that old errors are tranfered back to the iPhone. I have done this operation 4 times, first time with shaken hands but the last time in full confidence that it should work.

    Don't change the root password of your iPhone with version 1.1.3 because it will mess up the iPhone.

    Hope this helps to overcome the problems mentioned in the recent posts.
     
  17. Pedgie06 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    #17
    Restore your ipod and put version 1.1.4 on it. That's it...then just download the file and it will tell you what to do.
     
  18. malley446 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #18
    liar

    that **** dont work 4 pc u j muel
     
  19. captnmorgan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #19
    bout to try it on my 16gb touch... wish me luck
     
  20. Silver-Fox macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #20
    go for it! let us know how it goes
     
  21. captnmorgan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #21
    no, it didnt work
     
  22. lamina macrumors 68000

    lamina

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Location:
    From Canada, living in Seoul
    #22
    Just tried on mine, no go. I will try the 'soft upgrade' on the iPodtouchmaster repo once I get this to 1.1.2.
     
  23. Silver-Fox macrumors 65816

    Silver-Fox

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #23
    damn that sucks
     
  24. captnmorgan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #24
    when i did the soft update through installer a few days ago it messed up for some reason, personally i would do the soft update using your computer
     
  25. allbrokeup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #25
    iJailbreak is a Macintosh Only application. So it will not work on Windows. For an easy JB on Windows, try downloading ZiPhone 2.5c from http://www.ziphone.org - get the windows version.

    But only use ZiPhone with an 8GB iPhone or iPod Touch, 16GB and 32GB are not supported just yet.

    Post back on how the Jailbreak went. I hope it works for you.
     

Share This Page