iLamp is now iPaperweight!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by daily dave, Jan 24, 2011.

  1. daily dave, Jan 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2011

    daily dave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #1
    Nothing but trouble since I bought used iMac G4 700, 128, VGC $80! I was attempting to find software upgrades for OS 10.1.4. Started with trying to upgrade internet browsers but Safari, Mozilla and a newer version of IE basically all needed a newer OS. I found 10.1.5 and while trying to download/install the icon was a spinning CD and the iMac froze on that screen and nothing would happen. Even restarting the machine didn't get rid of it. The same thing happened when I went to a Yahoo mail sign in page.
    I looked thru my "dummies book and decided just to restore original settings and NOW I'm getting "you hav not inserted the correct CD. Please insert the Software Restore CD labelled with the following illustration:" (2 of 4)
    That's the one I inserted! it keeps kicking out!
    Here's a post I started with as an introduction last week:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=132244

    Please help.
     
  2. scottdot macrumors member

    scottdot

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #2
    Couldn't you upgrade the RAM and install Leopard, or at least Tiger? Just your system restore disc not working?
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Perhaps you could consider buying a newer machine altogether. It's likely going to be more trouble than it's worth to get a 700 MHz G4 with OS < 10.4 working with any modern software.
     
  4. daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #4
    That's my plan but these other problems seemed more immediate.

    Now I've restarted with the OS X disc and it doesn't offer me a destination. the dialog box is dimmed.
     
  5. daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #5
    Yay!! I ejected osx disc and restarted. I get a folder icon with a flashing "?". SWEET!
     
  6. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #6

    In order to make this machine useful, you have to put 1 GB RAM in it and install Tiger (OS X 10.4).

    Everything below 10.4.0 is no longer supported by anybody, so you won't even get a current web browser that works with Cheetah/Puma/Panther. Firefox 2 is the last version that still runs with Panther, for example.

    Also, the machine is too weak to run Leopard properly, no matter how much RAM you will put in it, so Tiger really is the only acceptable choice.

    You might have a dead or dying DVD/CD drive in that machine. If possible, try connecting an external Firewire DVD drive to the iMac and boot from that.
     
  7. daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #7
    Can you recomend a site where I can down load a copy of 10.4 (using this PC)?
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    You can't download OS X, you have to buy a disc. You may be able to call Apple and buy some from them, but your machine is so old they might not have the right discs.
     
  9. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #9
    Reading your other post in the other thread, what you're facing is a machine that has never been upgraded and is still running it's original OS.

    Back when this machine was new, MacOS 10 was still "a whole new OS". If fact, some would even argue that until MacOS 10.2.x, MacOS 10 was pretty much un-usable. You're looking at almost a 9 year old Mac with an over 9 year old OS.

    From your description, there are several areas to consider and trying to diagnose these over a forum is difficult at best, but here goes.

    1. Your MacOS Restore Disc 2 is either dirty or scratched OR:

    2. The CD/DVD drive is showing signs of wear or has dust in it's optics. OR

    3. Whilst you have a Disc 2, it's not the correct series.

    To explain #3, Apple routinely updated the disc sets, even for the same model. Printed on the Discs is a "691-xxxx-A" number. Please post the 691 numbers of ALL discs. Usually, the restore discs are sequential.

    More difficulties await you with MacOS 10.1.x. It really is difficult to find up to date drivers that still support 10.1.

    The more information YOU can provide, the more we can help. It may mean taking time to walk thru things but if cost isn't an option and your time is free, you'll have nothing to lose. :)
     
  10. scottdot macrumors member

    scottdot

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #10
    eBay. Buy a copy.

    And at the very least, if all else fails you only spent $80 on this machine.
     
  11. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #11
    Windows XP is a 9 year old OS... You can do it. I still run Panther on my mini!
     
  12. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #12
    I just knew I'd get that response. :(

    My server still runs 10.3.9. With respect to 10.1.x, that's akin to somebody trying to run Win95 today, in terms of the OS' "maturity".

    Heck, I still run a machine here with 8.6, an 11-12 year old OS.
     
  13. MacTech68, Jan 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2011

    MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #13
    Back on topic, there are usually 2 ways to get an OS onto your iMac.

    The disc set should consist of two independent parts. A "Restore" set and an "Install" set.

    The Restore set should be 4 discs.

    The Install set should be one MacOS X Install and one OS9 Install (2 Discs).

    The reason that you now have a blinking question mark is most likely because you no longer have a valid system on the hard drive (having partially run the Restore set). The reason you can't select the drive icon to install to when booted from the OS X disc is probably because it can still see 10.1.5 on the hard drive and refuses to install an older OS (10.1.2, 10.1.3 or 10.1.4).

    Your choice is to erase the drive (losing the entire contents including any third party Applications) and starting from scratch.

    One other word of warning, the spinning wheel you got when attempting to update to 10.1.5 could be for many reasons, but one could be that there is a bad block on the hard drive that cannot be mapped out by the drive.

    None of the failures are mac related. CD drives and hard drives fail in any computer, Mac or PC, especially 9 year old hardware. :(

    EDIT: This Apple article may help re-installing. See the section "Erase and install".
     
  14. daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #14
    thank you!!!!

    I really, really appreciate the help that you've offered. it will take me some time to soak in all your offerings & don't have time tonight to get into it, but I will offer that the "disc #2" does have a scratch on it!
    2nd: I do still own the B&W G3 running 9.x.
    if the point is trying to get anolog to stereo digital>cd, would the G3 work? I mean like with an old copy of pro tools? I know I've got an old sample copy somewhere....

    The restore discs have printed in the "spline":
    D1: "storewell 693-4026-A recorded in taiwan (A0202651)" [bar code]
    D2: "storewell 693-4158-A recorded in taiwan (A0205133)" [bar code]
    D3: "storewell 693-4030-A recorded in taiwan (A0202653)" [bar code]

    D4: "storewell 693-4031-A recorded in taiwan (A0202634)" [bar code]
     
  15. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #15
    Ok, thanks for looking for those numbers, but I can't track by the 693 number, (but a scratch certainly won't help).

    What I require is the number screen printed on the printed side of the disc. It will be 691-xxxx-x or i may have a letter prefix like "Z691-xxxx-A"

    If you intend to get Analog Audio into the iMac G4, you're a little out of luck since Apple began removing the analog input and required an external analg to digital converter to use via Firewire or USB. The feature returned on later Macs.

    Also, be warned that the 2.5mm sound output port is a special type detailed here. Sound input options are sadly lacking as described here.

    Alternatively, the G3 Blue&White does have analog audio in via the microphone port which switches from line level to mic level depending on the length of the plug. It's only 44.1Khz 16bit if that concerns you.

    Cheap A-D USB converters can be found like the Griffin iMic.

    From there you go pro to options like M-Audio. Most of these require at least MacOS 10.4. You may find older devices that still support 10.1.5. (The M-Audio Transit does still support 10.1.5).

    Personally, I do feel that what you're trying to achieve may be more trouble than it's worth with these older systems and software. :(
     
  16. red kiosk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #16
    I used that machine from 2001 until last summer, when I passed it on to my daughter's, boyfriend's grandma. It was running 10.4.6 at the time with no problems at all. I was even using it with PowerCADD, for some of my architectural drawings. Grandma is using it for browsing, email and pictures of her grandchildren now. The first few minutes with my new 2.93 Core i7, 27" iMac w/ SSD & 2TB HD/16 GB RAM, was quite the trip though! Take care!
     
  17. MCIowaRulz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #17
    It isn't much better with an 867 G4 1.25GB with OS Tiger either
    Slow as heck!

    My 2006 PC (See sig) runs circles around it.
     
  18. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #18
    Hi red kiosk,
    I still have the PowerCADD installed on my 10.6.6! (along the AutoCAD)
    The best 2D application ever:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #19
    691-3647-A
    691-3780-A
    691-3649-A
    691-3650-A

    Well, that must be the "out of sequence" you spoke of.
    My intent remains to purchase a newer OS and at least more memory, to get the thing useful, even if to retail it.
     
  20. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #20
    If you want to get the most out of the machine, you're best bet is to upgrade it to 1GB of RAM and Tiger. However, there are ways to get Leopard on it with a firmware hack or use of software (LeopardAssist) I believe. I myself just bought a 17" iMac G4 as a 2nd machine for light web browsing, some iTunes, iPhoto, etc. and it's perfectly fine. There are a few articles on the internet where people have put Leopard on these machines with no problems at all,with 95% of the performance of where Tiger was at. Don't expect to be watching YouTube or going on Flash heavy websites... the machine will just not be able to handle it. For light tasks these machines are still great.
     
  21. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #21
    Yup. Looks like a 10.1.4 set mixed with a 10.1.5 set. :(

    If you get a later OS, as recommended by others, get Tiger (MacOS 10.4). Make sure it's a RETAIL Disc. It will be black.

    Here's one on eBay. The final 10.4 Retail DVD (10.4.6)

    You should check that your iMac has a DVD drive since one model only had a CDRW drive. The drives are standard 5 1/4" Optical Drives (PATA Interface).

    Upgrading the RAM in these isn't terribly easy if you need to upgrade the internal module. They have a 168Pin full size DIMM internally (difficult) and an SO-DIMM slot under the bottom plate (easy).
     
  22. daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #22
    I ran hardware diagnostics and it found no problems, I put in MAC OS 9 install and was directed to initialize disc "untitled" my harddrive I guess, and got OS9 running. went to install OS X and it seemed to be going along fine until I message (in script) that says:
    the installer has unexpectedly quit. (error 0)
    Press the Return key to restart the computer...

    well, pressing the return key doesn't do anything...
    going before work today to local mac service shop to buy SO DIMM
     
  23. daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #23
    It's just not meant to be....

    Upon forced restart a message appears: Top 1/4 of screen is black.

    UniNEet: 0 0 UniNEnet :: put ToSleep - Turned off cell clock!!!


    And then a short message about the mouse I just plugged in (i went down stairs to put another memory stick in the G3 B&W. It's @ 230 something now) it need to borrow the mouse
     
  24. MacTech68 macrumors 68000

    MacTech68

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #24
    Hmmm.. I'm hoping that there is an Airport Card in the bottom of the machine and it needs re-seating. If there is a card in there, I'd remove it for now.
     
  25. daily dave, Jan 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011

    daily dave thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    #25
    it's a 9.2 zombie

    No airport card installed. I went to the local (service) Mac store (after calling ahead about SO Dimm that would fit this (that) machine) and they said they had none instock, SO Dimm 133 that would fit "that" machine.

    I squiggled the mouse on the iMac tonight and the message:

    "UniNEnet: 0 0 UniNEnet::putToSleep - turned off cell clock!!!"
    came up.

    Why can't a ten year old machine running a ten year old operating system record ten year old music?

    it appears that (looking @ my e-mail alerts) I've got the winning bid on the OS X.4 offered in an earlier reply!!!!!
     

Share This Page