ilife 08 install on imac g3

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by a104375, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. a104375 macrumors 6502

    a104375

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    Matamoras, PA
    #1
    is there anyway that i can trick the install to think that my mac is a g4? i would really like to install the latest iphoto from it, but i just says that it is incompatable i dont really care if it is going to run slow i just want it to run..

    any suggestions?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Apple makes system requirements for a reason...

    The machines below it would run the apps like molasses. You wouldn't get any use out of it.
     
  3. a104375 thread starter macrumors 6502

    a104375

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    Matamoras, PA
    #3
    no way to do it?:confused: :(
     
  4. Mycatisbigfoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #4

    Well I have Iwork 2008 on my g3 at 500MH, Iwork 08 needs a g4 at 500MH or higher, it does not look at the G (G3 or g4) it looks at the speed of the CPU
    I am running Iflie also on it, but is is very slow, I would not advise you to do it, just get a cheap g4 imac and do that
     
  5. cballero macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    #5
    I installed iweb on my pismo running tiger a while back... (and a few G3 users report installing with no issues)

    I remember inserting the install disk, the I copied the ilife package to the desktop. I ctrl-clicked it to view contents, located the individual application package under contents, ctrl-clicked to open, dragged the .dist file in contents folder to textedit, deleted the installation check script and saved it, closed everything and installed package from the desktop. I also edited the distribution file to tell it to ignore that it was a G3, just don't remember exactly how. :)

    some of the other apps may choke G3s, and forget imovie, so be careful what you install this way, tiger and up only, etc. almost everything runs fast enough on mine, hope this helps someone... ;)
     
  6. Strandpirat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    #6
    Ilife 08 / Iphoto 08 Installation on G3

    Hi, I want to install Iphoto 08 on a G3 iBook 800MHZ.
    Does someone knows how to do ?

    Many thanks in advance.
     

Share This Page