Illu cs6 open file window bug

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by zoran, May 12, 2015.

  1. zoran macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    When i try to open a file in illu cs6 and use the open command, in the finder look alike window that pops up i cannot get a correct preview of the selected file. Its cropped because it will not fit in the are that its usually previewed and also there are no scoll bars to scroll and se it! Isnt that a bug or what? Illu cs6 is fully updated!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #2
    Just created the same thing. All I had to do was grab the corner of the window and stretch it out. It then gave me the full view.
     
  3. zoran, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015

    zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    Suppose one doesn't wants to stretch the window, or has a small screen, shouldn't scroll bars appear instead of stretching?
    If i remember correctly in Yosemite earlier versions i hadn't noticed such an issue. (btw Yosemite is also fully updated!)
     
  4. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #4
    Scroll bars being seen is dependent on a setting in your System Preferences. Look at the screenshot I have provided. Make sure you have Show scroll bars> Always checked off. This will allow the scroll bars to be showing at all times. But this will also make scroll bars appear on all other apps and browser as well.

    I leave mine at Automatically based on mouse or trackpad. This will hide the scroll bars until you try to scroll with your mouse, at which time the scroll bars will appear. They will then disappear again once you quit scrolling.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. zoran, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015

    zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    This issue only occurs in Illu cs6 and not any other apps! If this issue was as you suggest -a matter of settings- then shouldn't this be an issue for all apps and not only Illu cs6?
     
  6. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #6
    I have to agree that it should show in all apps, but that is not always the case. I thought one or the other suggestion that I offered would have helped with the issue you are having. Unfortunately I have no other suggestions. Hopefully someone else will have more suggestions to offer you.
     
  7. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #7
    Still even by stretching the window things aren't right! Im almost certain that this is a bug!
     
  8. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #8
    Was waiting all this time for Apple to resolve this issue with the new Yose 10.10.4 update. Instaled it today but NO, the issue is still here!
     
  9. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #9
    New OSX update 10.10.5, but is the issue fixed? Has anyone tried it? Iam afraid to update!
     
  10. dwig, Sep 1, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2015

    dwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Location:
    Key West FL
    #10
    Yes, but it is not Adobe's.

    It is a bug in MacOSX Finder. The dialog is a system provided dialog that AI calls, passing certain parameters (location, ...). I've seen many, many similar issues with Finder itself and a variety of apps' various calls to system dialogs since upgrading my main system from 10.6.8 to 10.9.x. File dialogs were solid and reliable in 10.6.8, but have acquired a range of annoying quirks, particularly with column widths and horizontal scrolling, in 10.9.x. I wouldn't be surprised to hear that the quirks persist in 10.10.x.
     
  11. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #11
    Still there. And worse now. It has now started to resize my save dialogue menu box when in Photoshop. Every time my save menu opens, it increases the size of the menu when it opens. Annoying, but ignoring it. I am currently on 10.10.5. My CS6 is as current as possible as well.
     
  12. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #12
    Ummmmm, damn, i don't understand why Apple don't take care of this! Its a very annoying issue!
     
  13. laurim macrumors 68000

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #13
    I only have this issue with Illustrator so I would call that an Adobe problem.
     
  14. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #14
    I would have to agree with you on this. And the further away they get from the CS series, I think the less Adobe will care. They want that subscription if my thinking is correct.
     
  15. zoran, Nov 15, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015

    zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #15
    Still nothing on the issue right? Has anyone tried to see if its been resolved on OSX latest version... elCapitan?
     
  16. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #16
    Hmm i just checked it myself, using Pshop CS6 on El Capitan all is fine, the issue is NOT there! So i guess this was not an Adobe issue but one of Apple's issues!
     
  17. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #17
    You'd originally asked about Illustrator CS6, not Photoshop. Does Illustrator work?
     
  18. zoran thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #18
    Damn i miswrote, i meant Illu but yes both work!
     

Share This Page