Illustrator Tool Obstructing Design.

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Dal123, Dec 23, 2009.

  1. Dal123 macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #1
    I've just managed to save up and buy myself a Roland GX24 :D. It is to create graphics for my motorcycle to promote my company (link signature).

    I have text on a path in Illustrator, and there is a tool in the way, the little box on the top right. When this is clicked on it flips/ mirrors the whole path along with text. It's strange, don't know how to get rid of this, what do I do. I want to see how my design will look properly :).

    Any input appreciated :).
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    Seems weird that it wouldn't go away when you deselect the text path. Dunno if this would help but... could you put a space after the URL which might at least bump the box to the right a bit until you get it figured out?
     
  3. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #3
    That box signifies that there is overset text. In other words, the text you have doesn't fit in the space you've allotted it. You can remedy this by using the EDIT:direct selection tool and grabbing the right vertical bar at the end of your text and pulling it out a little farther parallel with the path on which your text sits.

    Does that make sense?
     
  4. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Thanks for your input Silent Panda. I decreased the font size and that sorts it out.
    But very strange as there is clearly enough space to increase a good few font sizes. Thanks again :).
     
  5. Dal123 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dal123

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Thanks TobeFirst, it was really getting to me. I'm surprised as there is no space as it looks like there was loads, obviously you are correct here though thanks :D.
     

Share This Page