I'm a Graphic Designer and was Thinking About the 5K iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by holland909, Oct 19, 2014.

1. holland909 macrumors newbie

Hello, I have always been coming to this website since the first leaked images of the iPhone 4 and have enjoyed it since. A few weeks ago I have graduated from college with my Bachelor's in Graphic Design and I have been looking to upgrade my 6 year old computer (2008 iMac 24") to move forward with my field.

I was curious if the new iMac would be a solid choice for a graphic designer? I understand it is perfect for photographers, which I am sure down the road, I will probably appreciate it when I need to use photos. But is the hefty price of $4200 worth it (I upgraded the processor, RAM and storage to their max) or should I possibly go with one of the previous models instead?

I really would like anyone's opinions on this. Thank you. :)

2. EnderTW macrumors 6502

TBH, at that price, if you have to ask.. I highly discourage you from getting this machine.

3. Pressure, Oct 19, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014

Pressure macrumors 68040

Pressure

You would be better off upgrading the RAM yourself and grab an external drive for storage of projects (via TB2). Could be LaCie 10TB 5big Thunderbolt 2 Series Hard Drive for $1,299 if you want fast performance and storage.

256GB flash storage is more than enough for applications (Adobe CC, etc.) in my experience.

Pick the faster processor (Core i7 4Ghz) and the graphic upgrade (M295X 4GB) and you should be set. $2,999 ($2,749 with education prices) and around $300 for 32GB RAM.

4. pasadena macrumors 6502a

pasadena

I'm not a GD, so I can't really say, I suppose there are a lot of different types of Graphic Design.

Honestly, nobody *needs* it. I most certainly don't, and I bought one.