Im a Print designer looking to get into Web Design. Advice on what to learn first?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by shitzkrieg, Dec 10, 2008.

1. shitzkrieg macrumors newbie

Im a print designer looking to get into web design. Im trying to teach myself with online tutorials (lynda.com). I was looking for someone to help me set a program on which languages I should learn and in which order. In which order should I learn these (also which are unnecessary/outdated): HTML, XHTML, CSS, XML, Javascript, Actionscript, and any others I left out that you feel that are important. I know basics of Dreamweaver and Flash but realize I need to go back and learn the above mentioned. I am looking to learn how to better my skills in Flash actionscript programming. Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. Aea macrumors 6502a

Aea

HTML/XHTML are pretty similar, just focus on XHTML since it's really the way forward. "XML" isn't really a language, it's more of a human readable data storage format, of course there are ways to "format" an XML document to look like a web page, but this isn't really common and I definitely wouldn't worry about it starting. CSS is of course as essential as XHTML these days.

You should know how to use a framework like jQuery, MooTools, etc for design effects, but you don't really need to know the ins and outs of JavaScript, there are "xxx framework for designers" tutorials out there that should give you most of the tools you need.

ActionScript lives in it's own little world, it's really not related to web design unless you're working with a flash based site where it's everything.

Oh, the only thing you should be using in Dreamweaver is the code view, it's a piece of junk at WYSIWYG (well, everything pretty much is).

3. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

I recommend starting with the stickies in this forum, which are also in my sig. Nothing you listed is outdated.

4. shitzkrieg thread starter macrumors newbie