I'm a professional and i'm using seriously outdated tech! Tme to upgrade?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by clarkjamesdigit, Jul 16, 2012.

1. clarkjamesdigit macrumors newbie

Hi, I'm currently running a super old macbook pro 2.4ghz core2duo, 4gb, 3,1 2007 pre unibody I think, running leopard

I am a professional photographer, freelance, not salaried which means I have zero cash for upgrades- damm you rich people who have the latest laptop just to read facebook in starbucks!

I'm using photoshop cs5 and lightroom every single day, my computer runs hot, all day- I do some video work (final cut), some 3d work (cinema 4d), some audio production (ableton live) and lots of graphics work in indesign and regularly use other resource intensive software, when i'm not using the machine it's still in use as a server/media streaming/downloading
    I have seen the core temp rise to 95 degrees C before when I was rendering animations for 24 hours straight...

so i'm getting on ok with my computer still, but I had my first real busy patch the other week and it was clear my computer was starting to slow down my workflow dramatically, and rendering a seriously huge panorama that ended up being 9gb as a 16bit TIFF pretty much killed my computer, so I think it's time to look for a replacement

I also have a pretty well specced PC (for the time- core 2 duo 2.4ghz clocked at 3.6) which never sees action anymore as I just don't use windows and have none of my software for it, I had hacked it to run leopard but had so many kernal panics it just wasn't worth the bother, I might have another go and build a beastly rig, maybe even try windows again- or may sell it to fund purchase, easily got enough collateral to raise about £1500