I'm a total Newbie to Macs, I have some questions, Please help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PammyLZ, Dec 23, 2007.

1. PammyLZ macrumors newbie

Hello:

I just acquired a Power Mac G4 PowerPC yesterday. It has OS 9.2.2 on it. I'm fairly proficient with computers, so I was able at least reinstall the OS, and upgrade it up to 9.2.2 again. But, I really don't like the Classic OS. I was eyeing Tiger for this machine, but I'm such a newbie to macs that I don't know if my G4 can handle Tiger...

I've tried searching on the forums here and on the web, but I'm probably using the wrong search terms as I didn't find the answers I was looking for. So, thanks for your patience and help..

The specs of my G4 are as follows:

450mhz CPU
    128 Rage Pro AGP
    30GB HD
    768 RAM
    DVD-Rom

Also, I have a widescreen 20" LCD monitor, and the resolution is all blurry, especially on text. I can't select anything higher than 1280 x 1024.... Is there something I can do until I can get a more compatible monitor?

Thanks!!

-Pamela

2. jroad macrumors member

Hi,

Congrats on your first Mac. Based on the minimum specs for Tiger: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=301341, your G4 should handle it. I do not have real world experience with that setup, so I can't give an idea on performance.

I have no further info about the monitor issue you have. Perhaps you can post some model info and someone else can help out.

3. eric55lv Guest

eric55lv

Frist of all I would like to say welcome to MacRumors Forums!You can intall Tiger on your Power Mac but not Leopard and why not get a Cinema Display?

4. PammyLZ thread starter macrumors newbie

Cool! Thanks! There was a Cinema Display with this Mac, but it was sold way before I was offered the computer. I can't really afford to get a new monitor for this Mac. I might be getting an old CRT for free that will work. But, for now it's sharing my 20" Benq FP202W Monitor with my Windows Machine.