I'm a web developer looking to make the PC to Apple switch. I have some Questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by daninspired, Oct 11, 2009.

1. daninspired macrumors newbie

I'm currently running PC's for my web development and design work and as my work becomes more detailed i've found my PC's are not able to handle large photoshop and illustrator files, as well as having all of my development programs open and running at one time.

I'm looking to get the high end 17" macbook Pro.
    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=9375151&type=product&id=1218093607601

I have a line of credit at Best Buy that would allow me to purchase an Apple laptop.

But this is the only 17" model they carry

1. This is the standard 17" set up. Will it handle large photoshop documents? 500dpi 24"x36" canvases? Large flash animation projects? Any help from any of you that use macbooks to do this kind of work would be appreciated.

2.I can't order it from bestbuy with an antiglare screen. I want the anti glare screen because i was told the colors are a lot better, and its easier on the eyes then the normal screen. I will also be staring at the screen for hours at a time, and I've heard the anti glare screen is worth it. is it worth trying to hold out for the anti glare screen? Thoughts?

3. Durability is an issue. I'm a complete cluts. I've dropped my HP laptop out of my satchel, I've accidentaly kicked it a few times, and there was one time it got pulled off the back of a desk at school. How durable are these unibody frames? from your personal experience, not what they claim in the brochure.

4. Apple care vs. best buys plan. from what i've read about Apple care it only covers defects. Best buy covers "Anything" that happens to it within the 3 years and the warranty is extended able. so its like apple care on steroids. Which one?