Im about to hack my Apple TV and have some questions

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by K3mp, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. K3mp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #1
    1. does it void the warranty? I have searched and nobody seams to have answer besides they aren't sure.

    2.What are the things I need to do to help it run better or watch out for? For example some people say turn off screen saver.
    Thx in advance I've been reading for a while about ATV hacking and this is my first attempt at it so I want to make sure I do every thing right.
     
  2. dav146 macrumors regular

    dav146

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    #2
    ATV Hacking

    Last month I purchased the ATV software for my new Apple TV unit. The Apple TV was only purchased once I had got the ATV software!

    ATV are a professional outfit. The download of the software was a smooth process (including payment), and the instructions are comprehensive enough to allow the novice user to perform the upgrade.

    In my opinion it it the only way to use the Apple TV!
     
  3. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #3
    What do you mean you payed for it? I'm talking about Boxee and XBMC. I know what I am doing I just have some questions.
     
  4. dylanbrown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    There are some companies selling Apple TV plug-ins on a Patchstick for you to pay and download. This is simple and easy, but the greedy people (Apple Core LLC in this case) keep the money and don't pass it onto the developers.

    Going the Boxee route is easy, I also made a YouTube video a while back as a "how-to" guide. That should help too.

    As for voiding your warranty, it does not. Although, do check on the ATVUSB Google Code page as some files don't get removed when you restore your Apple TV, so just be sure to check that out.

    As for the screensaver, yep, disable that... and then you'll be able to stream Netflix and Hulu - If you live in the US, I don't... :( .

    That's it, hope this helps!
     
  5. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #5
    Thanks for the reply. I saw one company advertising ATV's with boxee pre-installed for $250.
     
  6. dylanbrown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #6
    It's also wort to note that the USB drive must be above 2GB and below 4GB, I have had more luck with 2GB drives, and had to try three different brands before it would work. Also, SanDisk drives don't have a good success rate, I think mine was a Memorex.

    Once you get one that works however it is great!

    As for the company selling Boxee pre-installed on (I presume) a 40GB Apple TV, I'm not too sure. First off, I'm the kind of person who would rather give the money to Boxee, rather than some ol' chap who just installed it for me. Also, I like to buy from well-known companies, like Apple, or BestBuy or WalMart. (Trying to think of American shops!).

    That's just my opinion though!
     
  7. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #7
    Hack it, it's easy as hell.

    I love it because i can stream HD movies i download off my pc and don't have to sync or anything.

    About voiding anything, if you ever need it replaced or something you can just do a restore and it sets it back to factory default software and setup, no issues.
     
  8. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #8
    I don't think I made myself clear. I know what I am doing and have general experience with this kind of stuff. But hacking an iPhone is different than an ATV and I just wanted to know some of the little tricks and tweaks to make the hack work better and stuff like that. I just put the $250 ATV's in my post because it went with the company selling patch sticks.
     
  9. dylanbrown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #9
    Ahhh.... well good luck anyway, let me know how it goes...
     
  10. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #10
    No tricks or tweeks, just download the software, put it on a patchstick, and apply! You're in business. :cool:

    Like others said, IF anything goes wrong, restore and retry. Simple. ;)
     
  11. K3mp thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Location:
    S.E. Louisiana
    #11
    It is working. I streamed a xvid from a network drive which is half the reason why I did this.
     
  12. grawk macrumors 6502

    grawk

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Location:
    Southern York County, PA
    #12
    I use a 1st gen 1gb shuffle as my patchstick, and it works great. I did it because I had several on hand, of course. The googlecode project has really made this easy.
     

Share This Page