I'm All In!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Soop53, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. Soop53 macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I just ordered the beast...mac pro!!! I have been using a Powerbook G3 Lombard since August '99 (still going strong). The last desktop was a Centris 650 back in '92. I switched to PCs so my son could play games. We got into building some but he moved on. I am so frustrated with the dark side. I finally made the full leap back into the light!

    My Mac Pro:

    Part Number: Z0EM
    AirPort Extreme card (Wi-Fi)
    One 16x SuperDrive
    Two 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (8-core)
    Apple wireless Mighty Mouse
    Apple Wireless Keyboard (English) + Mac OS X
    2GB (2 x 1GB)
    320GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    Accessory kit
    NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB (Two dual-link DVI)

    $2,874.00

    AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac Pro --- $199.00

    Estimated Ship: 2-4 weeks
    Estimated Ship: Within 24 hours

    After reading many reviews I decided against Apple Monitors right now. Will look at other alternatives until I see any updates. Plus 3rd party RAM, harddrives...etc.
     
  2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    Congrats. You should notice a bit of a speed increase over your Lombard. :p
     
  3. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #3
    wow what a step forward ...

    I'm on a powerbook G4 and I'm already looking to ad some speed.
    What took you so long ?
     
  4. Soop53 thread starter macrumors regular

    Soop53

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Yes, I agree with the bump in speed...Ha! As for the wait...well lets see, Jeep Rubicon, Harley Davidson Heritage Classic, 5 grandkids...ah, you get the message. Not bad for a old man!!! Really, when people complain about efficiency I continued to enjoy my G3. My son-in-law went through 5 Dell Laptops in that time span. He even is waivering on a switch over.
     
  5. LostSunrise macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #5
    Something in the Middle...

    I'm sure this is a over done comment but for a guy like you its too bad there isn't something in the middle. I'm the recent victim of a serious relationship and got stuck at my girlfriends place a few nights a week. Luckily she recently purchased a 20 inch aluminum iMac which I proceeded to install shake aftereffects and photoshop CS3 on. I have to say I was amazed at how responsive it was for those apps. Especially considering I was crunching through 1920x1080 10bit log DPX frames at 7.9mb a piece. Previously I had been working on DP Power Mac G5s and this little thing smoked those. So for you a high end imac would of been ample speed jump. Its just ashame there isn't something inbetween the highest end imac and the lowest end mac pro that allows 2 drives an expansion card or two and full size RAM dimms.
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    That jump is going to blow your mind no doubt!
     
  7. darthraige macrumors 68000

    darthraige

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Coruscant, but Boston will do.
    #7
    Hmmmmm, I would think it would be switching to the dark side with all that money we put down. lol. ;)

    Anyway, you have no idea what you are in for. It's the greatest machine ever. I love it! I do need to get a lot more RAM though. :D
     

Share This Page