"I'm as mad as hell, and I'm not going to take this anymore!"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Beam42, Mar 9, 2009.

1. Beam42 macrumors newbie

G'day guys,

I'm jumping the PC ship and looking to get a MacBook Pro 17", probably a 2.93 GHz. However, because I'm a Photographer/Videographer and since I'm still suffering the initial price shock, I'm wondering if a good first move is to have installed; if possible, a single 4 gigs 1066 DDRRAM and then later perhaps go the second. Or is there another way for a Mac newbie to save some bucks, $1,700 for an extra 4 gigs is a real shock at this point, I'm already pushing the 6k mark.

Also with regards to the hard drives, is there any downside to the 7200 rpms and is it possible to go a 1 TB or even a 500 GB? And if so where do I go to buy one?

Regards

Beam42

2. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

Well, for the RAM, when you get the standard 4GB, it is 2x2GB, not 1x4GB. But either way, pretty much everyone here will suggest upgrading the RAM by yourself since you can save quite a bit of money by not buying the RAM from Apple. Maybe go for the 4GB right now, and when the prices start to get more sane, then upgrade it.

For hard drives, 1TB is not available, yet at least. And right now there is only 1 500GB 7200RPM drive, and its made my Seagate. I guess the only downside(s) to the faster drive is more noise/vibrations compared to a standard 5400RPM drive.

Hope that helps.

3. mik34 macrumors member

Not sure about the RAM question. I have 2 x 2GB (4 total) in my new macbook and it's nice.

As for the HDD, Seagate makes a 500GB 7200rpm drive that's available now. That's the highest combo of capacity and speed that I know of. There are lots of posts here about 7200 drives, most of which are very positive.

4. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

Demosthenes X