I'm Back!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by scottsjack, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. scottsjack macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    Did it but just couldn't live with it.

    A couple of months ago I sold my 2010 MP 3.2 quad, 24GB, 5870. I just got tired of "old", whatever that means and was not having good luck with USB3. It was time to join a more modern USB3/TB world.

    I replaced the MP with with a 2012 mini 2.6 i7, 16GB and installed the 960GB M500 from the MP. For storage I bought an OWC Thunderbay 4 and put the MP's four HDDs in it.

    That was really an excellent hardware combination assuming I did not try to do too much heavy duty stuff all at the same time. I could recommend that setup to just about anyone and since I'll probably be selling the mini and Thunderbay I definitely will be recommending it.:)

    The problem was it wasn't a Mac Pro. I just bought a really clean, true 2012 in stock condition, i.e. 3.2 quad, 6GB, 5770. It definitely needs RAM, a CPU and a GPU but it feels great to have that stupidly huge hunk of aluminum back on my desk. The M500 went back into a MP and after entering a few passwords I'm back in the saddle.

    Sure the Geekbench 3 scores suck but it seems to work better than the mini. Compared to the Intel HD 4000 the AMD HD 5770 isn't too shabby either!
     
  2. Verdenshersker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #2
    Welcome back on the "big market" :)

    Are you going for Dual CPU board or "just" a big 6 core?

    Tell us about your plans and what you're gonna use it for :)
     
  3. scottsjack thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Not all the much really. Light Photoshop work, a little Aperture, EyeTV and a lot of fiddling around. Last night I did a couple Canon 5Dm3 three-frame HDRs without remembering that the poor beast only has 6GB RAM. It worked just fine.

    I do want to get a six-core though. There are apparently plenty of used 3.33s and 3.46s on the market.
     
  4. Verdenshersker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #4
    Ahhh so the plan is 12-16 GB memory? Assuming you are not going crazy with work :) Myself I have 32 GB in my 2009. Yeah there is a bunch of those on the market - I look at them when I wanted to upgrade from my 2.26 Ghz, but I went with 2.93 Ghz Quad Cores - so it doesn't sound like a huge upgrade but the speed difference is huge... And the cost was $75 for both incl. shipping... So a fairly affordable too
     
  5. scottsjack thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    I'll probably go with 24GB of OWC memory. That's what I had on the last one and it worked out pretty good.
     
  6. Verdenshersker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #6
    Gotcha...

    Can you tell a lot different if you are running triple or dual channel?

    I mean, I would rather have 4 x 8 GB (32 GB) than the 24 GB kit
     
  7. EdDuPlessis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #7
    It's only worth going for 2 or four sticks if you are going to use a lot more memory. 64GB for example. That's when you won't care if you aren't runnin triple channels.
     
  8. Verdenshersker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #8
    Ahh I see, so 24 GB Triple Channel will be better than 32 GB Dual Channel?

    I have 32 GB (8x4GB) in mine, but that is the dual CPU - so is that a difference?
     
  9. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    It doesn't drop to dual channel with more sticks added. It's still 3 channel but bandwidth is shared on the 3rd channel amongst the added memory.

    For example, on a single CPU machine, slots 1-3 are on independent channels, if you put memory in slot 4, that stick will share bandwidth with slot 3.
     

Share This Page