I'm considering a MacBook Pro: A few questions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by lbro, Aug 15, 2010.

1. lbro macrumors 6502a

lbro

Hi,
    I'm trying to decide whether or not I should get a 13" MBP or not since my HP laptop is getting too old (almost 3 years). I've never used a Mac before so I apologize in advance if any of these questions seem stupid.

1) First question, I have a monitor and I'd like to know if I can hook it up to a MBP or not. Would I need to buy a special cable? What would I plug the cable into?

2) Secondly, would any type of speakers work with it? I also have a Microsoft Keyboard, mouse, and a HP printer, would they work?

3) I'm also wondering about apps, where/how do you get them?

4) Is Mac software more expensive than PC software?

5) Would I be able to move all the files from my old PC to a new Mac? Is this easy to do?

6) I'm also wondering about bootcamp, I think it enables you to run Windows on your Mac but does it cost a lot, and is it annoying to use, does it mean I can use any Windows program on it, will it slow down my Mac?

7) Do Macs start up a lot quicker than PCs?

8) Do they get a lot less viruses on them? Should I buy antivirus software for it?

9) What are some things that are a lot different on Macs compared to PCs? I heard they only have only one click button, what else is there that is a lot different than Windows?

10) Okay this is my last question for now, do MBPs make a lot of noise or do they run very quietly?

11) If there are any people here who have switched over to Macs, would mind telling me how it went? Was it good or not so good?

Thanks in advance

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Please format your original post (OP) for better reading.

Yes, either via Mini DisplayPort to VGA Adapter or Mini DisplayPort to DVI Adapter. Check www.mooprice.com for cheaper editions of those.

You plug your monitor cable into the adapter end (DVI or VGA) and the adapter is plugged into the MBP.