I'm done with betas. 10.13 making Mac Pro restart randomly.

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by macpro2000, Jun 7, 2017.

  1. macpro2000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    #1
    This has now happened 3 times. Working in 10.13 yesterday and boom, Mac Pro (2013) just restarts on it's own. Once it just crashed hard and got the black screen with text. More than annoying but I deserve it using it on a main machine. I never seem to learn my lesson not to use betas. I think I'm done now. :)
     
  2. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    Never ever install a beta on your main machine no matter how good beta's in the past were.

    If you are curious, the best thing to do is partition part of your HD for the beta.
     
  3. fisherking macrumors 603

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #3
    i've installed every public beta since i joined the program (several years back), and, while i've had some challenges (including a big one in logic X), i have no regrets. nothing catastrophic has happened, and it's been fun (there, i said it), exploring new features, functionality. all this on both my macs.

    your mileage may vary...
     
  4. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #4
    2013 Mac Pro running 'fabulous' here.

    I have friends that want access to beta stuff all of the time and I've just started using the statement somewhere along the lines of.... Using early betas are like finding a new person to have sex with, he/she may or may not have crabs. Do you want to take the chance before finding out how serious those bugs are?

    If you aren't opposed to 'shaving it all off' and starting over. Go for it.
     
  5. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #5
    Then you are terrified when they still want the beta.
     
  6. AVonGauss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, FL
    #6
    I've seen a few graphics artifacts (discolored regions) during the boot process on a Mac Pro 2013, but haven't experienced any spontaneous reboots. That said, I did a clean install to force ADFS usage and thus reinstalled software rather than upgrade. The reason I mention the later is one of the changes appears to restrict kernel extension usage, even installing the standard Epson drivers via the Apple control panel required me to approve an extension override via Security control panel.
     
  7. mmomega macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    No judgement man, no judgement.

    Just don't call me to do your 'shaving' / formatting. I have my own bugs to deal with :D
     
  8. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #8
    Why not install to an external drive? That would save a lot of frustration, in my opinion.
     
  9. Ultracyclist macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #9
    You my friend, you just won this forum!:D

    Im not saying to (or that I do) practice unsafe sex but in this case I love taking a bit of risk!

    The view from the edge of the cliff is better than the view from a few yards away!
     
  10. maflynn, Jun 8, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2017

    maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Well this is a developer preview, so you know developers can start working with their code to ensure it works with the new OS. and identify possible bugs/issues. I know many people install it just for the sake of getting the new OS, but that's not what this is for. Plus installing the first developer preview can be a risky proposition and Apple states you shouldn't use it on your daily driver of a machine.
     
  11. kissmo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    #11
    The DP and Beta train is one who always pulls me in.
    To be honest, I jumped again on this one but only on the MAC since somehow I can deal easier with the bugs and can always do a night restore.

    I am annoyed by many bugs now, but I know when other DPs will kick in I will want to jump back on the train so I can see if it really improved.

    To me, it's interesting and more fun than irritating - and as long as it stays in this ratio I will keep running beta SW.
    But truth be told, I am looking forward to DP2 since this one is pretty unstable for me.

    When you install beta and stuff like this - is better to evaluate how much you are willing to be patient to wait 2-3 weeks until next release probably will fix what is not working.
     
  12. pommie82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    uk
    #12
    i have did install it on my main machine on my mac mini and i had to reformat because the beta was that bad i had no option at all now i am left with no operating system at all.

    i have to wait for the new beta and fingers crossed that will solve the problem

    This beta has been the worse release in history it the worse i have seen
     
  13. blackdogaudio macrumors member

    blackdogaudio

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    #13
    No need to wait...boot into Internet Recovery ( CMD + Option + R + SHIFT), erase the volume with Disk Utility and reinstall your OS. (The Apple server-based version of DU launched by Internet Recovery can nuke an APFS partition.)
     
  14. dacreativeguy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #14
    Oh no! As a registered Apple Developer, how will you work on making your application compatible?!?
     
  15. pommie82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    uk
    #15
    I have tried this what you have suggest and it wont let me do it at all it wont let me install the old os at all there is a massive bug in the operating system there is nothing i can do about it at all.


    The only thing that I will let me install is the latest beta which is not working at all and it wont even see my drive when the new beta comes out i have to use that new image and then install that and work from there and fingers crossed it will solve the problem then but at the moment i am stuck
     
  16. pommie82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    uk
    #16
    I had to delete the new beta when it first come out because my operating system wouldn't even let use the machine at all i have formatted the drive completely it wont even show up on the machine for some reason it wont select it showing blank and unable to do anything at all



    I think this first beta been programmmed to quick and missed out on this massive bug which has caused this problem which is the worse release to date
     
  17. blackdogaudio macrumors member

    blackdogaudio

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    #17
    So when you enter Internet Recovery>Disk Utility> highlight your working volume ("Macintosh HD", etc) and click erase, what exactly happens? Do you get an error message?
     
  18. pommie82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    uk
    #18

    When i have erased the disk and finished that and try to install the new beta it wont let me install the beta for some reason about 75% away through the install process of doing the operating system it will fail and wont let me install the operating system and then i am unable to install it

    I have even tried installing the Sierra on to the disk and it wont work at all for some reason there is nothing i can do now install the new beta or the new operating system comes out I'm stuck with it i am glad I haven't done my mac air least i have one machine to work with and not have no computer at all.

    I am hoping that i can work with the new beta and get it working with no problems at all unless i cannot work with it i have to wait for gold release to come out and work from there
     
  19. blackdogaudio, Jun 12, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2017

    blackdogaudio macrumors member

    blackdogaudio

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    #19
    Goal: Let's forget about the beta of High Sierra and focus on getting you back up and running with a production version of macOS.

    Step 1. Go back into Internet Recovery>Disk Utility> highlight your working volume ("Macintosh HD", etc) and click erase. Choose macOS Extended Journaled and keep the default volume name "Macintosh HD" or change it as desired.

    Step 2. Reboot your Mac and choose one of the following keystroke commands depending up which OS version you want to install (I'd recommend the last one, Internet Recovery (Shift-Option-Command-R) as it will likely up date your EFI and recovery partition which might have been modified or corrupted):

    Command-R
    Reinstall the latest macOS that was installed on your Mac from Mac Utilities "Reinstall macOS", without upgrading to a later version.

    Option-Command-R
    Upgrade to the latest macOS that is compatible with your Mac.

    Shift-Option-Command-R
    Requires macOS Sierra 10.12.4 or later and reinstalls the macOS that came with your Mac, or the version closest to it that is still available.

    Step 3. If Internet Recovery was successful update the operating system that you just installed, then upgrade to Sierra by downloading a copy through the App Store unless you have incompatible apps, and lastly, bring your data back over.

    If any step fails please provide as much detail as you can with error messages, etc and hopefully one of us can advise.

    Here's a helpful link:

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204904
     
  20. pommie82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    uk
    #20

    I have tried to reformat the disk in to mac extended journal it wont let me because i have chosen to use the new file system and for some reason it wont let me revert back to the old i have

    I have tried to put Sierra on my machine and that wont work either wont installed either because it still stuck in the new file format so i can not revert it back to the other one at all.

    If i am unable to revert i cannot go back to the old operating system at all

    The only thing i can do now is wait for the new beta to come out and fingers crossed that will sort it out with a bit of luck if not then i have to wait for the gold release to come out and that will solve the problem and get it working again with no further problems either
     
  21. blackdogaudio, Jun 12, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2017

    blackdogaudio macrumors member

    blackdogaudio

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    #21
    Triple-check that you are holding down Shift-Option-Command-R when booting into Recovery as I've found what you describe DOES happen if booting into MacOS Recovery (Command-R or Option-Command-R) by mistake instead of Internet Recovery.

    Also, is there an option when right clicking on the volume in either Mac OS or Internet Recovery>Disk Utility to convert it back to HFS+ ? If so, try converting it back to HFS+, reboot into Internet Recovery and try and erase the volume again as in Step 1 above.

    Let us know what happens as I'm sure someone here can help with some terminal commands that might erase it. Worst case, a call to Apple and/or a Genius Bar tech could fix you up!

    And another resource:

    https://forums.developer.apple.com/community/beta/macos-1013-beta
     
  22. pommie82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    uk
    #22

    Unable to convert it back to HFS+ at all i have looked all through the menus and everything is showing that it would work at all wont let me do nothing at all

    I think the only thing i can do is wait for the new release apple have made a very poor beta release i am never going to use beta again because it not worth the hassle with no haven a machine any more
     
  23. blackdogaudio macrumors member

    blackdogaudio

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    #23
    One last thing to check...when you boot into Internet Recovery, make sure you are actually connected to the Internet. If you aren't I would hope you'd get a warning stating "the server could not be reached", etc but I've only had the problem once and it was too long ago to recall if I got any sort of error message.

    I'm sure your issue is fully recoverable, I simply don't have the knowledge you need! Hopefully one of our more experienced members can assist with what seems like a volume formatting issue. Again, I'm sure Apple could sort it for you worst case so you can get back to work.
     
  24. matt2053 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    #24
    Just FYI, over the weekend I downgraded from High Sierra to Sierra.

    I also could not erase the disk through Recovery (of any kind). The issues seems to be that the disk utility in the recovery partition was not cable of dealing the APFS disk at all.

    The only solution left for me was to boot back into High Sierra, download Sierra from the Mac App Store, make a bootable Sierra installer USB, boot from that, then I was able to erase the entire disk and reinstall Sierra.

    Hope this helps.
     
  25. pommie82 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    uk
    #25
    I have even made a bootable Sierra and it still not working not showing up to be able to boot from nothing more i can do then really then wait for the next beta to come out or wait for the gold release to come out
     

Share This Page