Im getting an imac is this spec ok?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by 234412, Oct 9, 2008.

  1. 234412 Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #1
    Hey Im getting an imac in the next two weeks hopefully, is this specification I will choose ok for just leisure and multimedia and bits of work used with the apple office or whatever its called..

    20inch
    4gb ram
    500gb hardrive
    2.88ghz (i think thats right?)
    And wireless keyboard and mouse.

    Does this spec seem good to you?
     
  2. mickbab macrumors 65816

    mickbab

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #2
    what does multimedia and work include?

    Sounds fine to me - I'd be rather happy with that (happier with 24" )
     
  3. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    That should be enough power to make for a really nice machine for you. You may want to consider looking at a 3rd party retailer for the RAM upgrade though. Apple is notorious for over charging for RAM.
     
  4. 234412 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    #4
    Multimedia would include, photoshop, final cut pro alot, music, movies, internet, chatting.
    Work would include just typing up word documents alot.

    I wanted the 24" too, but you see I'm too unpatient and dont have enough for it at the moment, but still I would be happy with the 20".
     
  5. 234412 thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
  6. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #6
    Yeah mate that is a good spec. should do almost everything you want to do


    Will run games well




    :apple:
    ML
     
  7. cherry su macrumors 65816

    cherry su

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    #7
    Stick with the default RAM and upgrade it to 4GB with 3rd party RAM for ~$50-$60. You save ~$150!!!

    /*
    because later you can upgrade it to 8GB (iMacs, MBPs, and MacBooks use the same chipset so the thread in the MacBook Pro forum regarding 8GB RAM is valid)
    */

    Oops, i just realized that iMacs like 800MHz RAM instead of 667MHz RAM, so unless some 4GB 800MHz DDR2 modules come out, iMac is still capped at 4GB. i'm not sure if iMacs like 667MHz RAM…
     
  8. Will_reed macrumors 6502

    Will_reed

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #8
    Simple answer, Yes.
     

Share This Page