I'm going insane from this sound.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vogelhausdesign, Nov 29, 2009.

1. vogelhausdesign macrumors regular

vogelhausdesign

So, for the past 7 weeks or so.. My Mac pro 2.93 Octo-Core has been making the sound from the movie "Sunshine" where the ship is pinging a distress signal , it's a rather alien sound and it's driving me INSANE.

It only happens when their is no input to my speakers, in example.. if i'm watching a movie or have itunes open playing music, it doesn't happen.

However when it's idle it will make this same sound over and over in perfect repetition and time. the sound last for 3 seconds, then is silent for 2 seconds, then it's back again.. over and over.. I've tried different speakers, headphones.. you name it. it's got to be the sound card.

I have apple care, but I work daily for a living with this machine and cant afford the time spent sending this machine away for a replacement part.

Any suggestions? I'm thinking about recording this sound and posting it here so you all can hear it and imagine hearing it several hundred times a day.

2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

well it is a good movie lol

could it be cable interference?

3. BlackiBook macrumors 6502

BlackiBook

Why not just plug in a pair of headphones? I am sure that would at least make it somewhat of a better situation!

4. Techhie macrumors 65816

Techhie

Things like this tend to be software based, due to the need to store that sound in some sort of memory and then play it back. I would reinstall OS X, or restore from a backup that was made before this happened. This would likely be the first thing they would do at the Genius Bar anyway, so if anything it will save you/them the time.

5. Tesselator macrumors 601

Tesselator

No, the machine is possessed plain and simple.

:D

6. vogelhausdesign thread starter macrumors regular

vogelhausdesign