I'm Having Serious Issues with Wordpress

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by lanervoza, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. lanervoza macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #1
    I'm not sure what the source of the problem is. The install, my server, or me just being daft.

    here's my website:

    www.thenervous.com

    Here's the theme I'm trying to use

    http://code.google.com/p/the-morning-after/


    Problems:

    The main links up top with the green images don't go anywhere, just to unnamed anchors.

    and

    The content isn't being generated on my server. If you click on a link to read more of any post, it doesn't exist. I don't think I'm supposed to manually establish every post after I've written it in the wordpress software, right?


    I'm clearly a total novice, so any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Alex
     
  2. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #2
    I haven't installed this theme on my blog, and I'm certainly no pro, but you can find the answer to the first part of your issue in the header.php file. You'll want to edit the portion below with the URLs of pages you want these to go to. You can, alternatively, delete or rename any of these links.

    Starting on line 64...
    Code:
    <ul id="menu">
         <li><span class="home"><a href="#">Home</a></span></li>
         <li><span class="about"><a href="#">About</a></span></li>
         <li><span class="archives"><a href="#">Archives</a></span></li>
         <li><span class="subscribe"><a href="#">Subscribe</a></span></li>
         <li><span class="contact"><a href="#">Contact</a></span></li>
    </ul>
     
  3. lanervoza thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #3
    That's easy enough; I guess I was hoping for it to be even easier :)

    If I can just get the other part sorted, I bet I'll get my head wrapped around the whole thing...
     
  4. EvanLugh macrumors 68000

    EvanLugh

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Developer land
    #4
    Try installing sample data again (I might be getting confused with Joomla!) or re-initialising your mysql tables. I'm pretty certain it's a mysql issue.
     
  5. lanervoza thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #5
    for anyone that's interested - i had to change my .htaccess file
     

Share This Page