Im in a bit of a quandry...RAM issue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by stateofmind, Apr 22, 2008.

  1. stateofmind macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #1
    I ordered a 2gb ram stick for my iMac instead of two 1gb's in case I want to updrade to 4 in the future.

    Should I leave 1 512mb card in the imac along with the 2gb or is there going to be issues/no performance boost.

    Reason being, if it served no purpose I can just give it to my brother for his computer which only has 512mb at the moment.
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #2
    There will be a performance boost, but its not great, and your brother would notice it more.
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Which iMac do you have? The Aluminum iMacs shipped with a single 1GB stick. Not 2X512MB.
     
  4. stateofmind thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #4

    :D:D:D:D:D

    YESSSS!!! I never bothered to check because I thought its standard to use all the slots on these machines.
     
  5. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #5
    You can check the RAM arrangement under the Memory section of System Profiler on both machines. I would have to agree with above and give the remaining 512 stick to your brother if its compatible.
     
  6. yotoad macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    do the 24" iMacs (2gigs) come with any open RAM slots for future upgrades

    ?

    just curious before i purchase one
     
  7. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #7
    I forget if all 24" iMacs come with 2GB of RAM. If it came with 2GB, it has 2x1GB sticks and therefore no open slots. If it only gave with 1GB, you'll have an open slot.
     
  8. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
    Your 2.8 came standard with 2GB. The "lower" 24" iMacs come with 1GB standard.
     
  9. cowman007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    #9
    While were on this topic

    While we are discussing iMac RAM I have a quick question for you guys. I currently have 20 inch Alu iMAc and i have 1 gig of RAM. I was thinking of upgrading to 2 gb or 4gb. My question is will there be a significant speed bump from 1gb to 2gb or will i need to go all in and buy 4 gig. I need the RAm for iMovie and Garageband. Right now iMovie is lagging al ot and the computer itself isn't that snappy. What do you guys think?
     
  10. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #10
    My 24" came with 2GB of RAM. I was getting a lot of page outs and spotty performance. I upgraded to 4GB and all that went away.

    With RAM being as cheap as it is, I'd go with 4GB. I think you'll see enough of a difference to be worth it.

    Edit: Actually, my Page Outs didn't go away right off, but they seem to have over time.
     
  11. mreg376 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #11
    Your iMac will certainly improve by doubling the RAM to 2GB. BUT I don't think that RAM can get much cheaper than it is now. If you can afford the $100, buy the 4GB. You won't have to think about RAM again until your next computer. If you can't spend the $100, adding 1GB will definitely add snap.
     
  12. apcpa2000 macrumors member

    apcpa2000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    2 to 4

    I have a 24" which I upgraded to 2gig of Ram. I would really like to move it up to 4gig, as its only like $105 on curcial right now. Is there arny market out there to sell my two 1 gig sticks?
     
  13. GilGrissom macrumors 65816

    GilGrissom

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #13
    pre-alu iMac 20" max RAM?

    Hi everyone, if I could be allowed to ask a quick question on the iMac RAM topic while we are all congregated on this thread. I have a white iMac C2D 2.16GHz 20". It came with 1Gb which I upgraded to 2Gb (x2 1Gb). My paperwork says this thing can only do 3Gb, but some of the RAM websites say 4Gb. Which one is technically right?

    I'm desperate for a little bit more RAM but want to max out at 4Gb if I can, as I don't think 3Gb will do that much for me. Obviously if it's all I can put in then that's all I can do!

    I understand the aluminium iMacs can do 4Gb, does anybody know for absolute certainty about the pre-aluminium iMacs?

    Thanks everyone.
     
  14. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #15
    If you put in 4GB, it'll see 3.3GB. That's the main advantage over replacing just one of the 1GB sticks with 2GB, for a total of 3GB, as real-world performance from having a matched pair is negligible. You may benefit from the extra 300MB if you regularly max out the RAM.
     

Share This Page