I'm locked out...how do I find out for how long

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by thedeejay, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. thedeejay macrumors 65816

    thedeejay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #1
    OK so one of THE DUMBEST things Apple did was remove the amount of time the iPhone is disabled for. How do I go about figuring out how long it is. Currently it says "iPhone is Disabled"...for how long? This is the dumbest **** they could've done. wow.
     
  2. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #2
    Maybe explain a little bit of the situation? I don't know how you get "locked out" Does this mean you entered the wrong password 10 times and it locked your phone? You should be able to enter your iCloud info and unlock immediately. Is this your phone?
     
  3. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    Yeah the time period is no longer there now. The times are the same as before I believe. The first time is 1 minute then 5 minutes then 15 and then it goes to something like 30 or 60 minutes, and I don't recall of it goes beyond that (to something like a day even perhaps).
     
  4. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #4
    If it says iPhone is disabled, connect to iTunes. It won't work without iTunes.
     
  5. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #5
    Aye, once it says "iPhone Disabled," you reached a maximum amount of attempts.. You must connect it to iTunes.
     
  6. gtmac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #6
    This actually isn't true in iOS 7. Really stupid on Apples part. I thought my 2 year bricked my phone today. It doesn't say how long it's disabled just says disabled.
     
  7. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #7
    Huh, how does it work in iOS 7? I haven't encountered it yet...
     
  8. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    Devil's advocate: How do you enter your passcode 3 times in a row INCORRECTLY? If you can't type a simple passcode don't use one.
     
  9. thekb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #9

    "... I thought my 2 year [old] bricked my phone today."
     
  10. iRebound, Sep 29, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2013

    iRebound macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    I just tried this and it will only disable for 1 minute on the first 10 attempt.
     
  11. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #11
    Why is that 2 year old entering the pin code wrong 3 times! :p
     
  12. kappaknight macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #12
    My 2 year old grabbed my phone while I was napping and was just punching numbers in all day long. It happens. :eek:
     
  13. Armen macrumors 604

    Armen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #13
    Thank God it wasn't a handgun your 2 year old grabbed. :eek:
     
  14. Dibberly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #14
    I like it how a apple does something to increase security and then get blamed that it's the stupidest thing they have ever done

    Who's at fault here really??? The 2 year old being unsupervised? The parent sleeping or apple??

    Just be thankful that it's the only thing the 2 year old done while you were napping. If you were that worried about being locked out, you could always remove the password
     
  15. Tiptizzle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    #15
    Does not displaying the time until you can enter your password again really increase security?
     
  16. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #16
    Handguns don't have pin codes!
     
  17. jr866gooner macrumors 65816

    jr866gooner

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
  18. Lucille Carter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #18
    I deliberatly entered my code wrong tens times and it locked me out. I shut the phone off and then back on it it was ready to accept more attempts.
     
  19. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #19
    Well, chances are the 1-minute initial disable timed out in that period. :cool:
     
  20. Dibberly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    #20
    I can view the time without unlocking it (4s)...but the password was put on for a reason and blaming apple for it
     
  21. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #21
    :rolleyes: Oh Jesus.

    I lol'ed. Don't forget pro football players.
    Were you using the beta? I locked myself out in error when it was in my pocket and I hadn't disabled control center access while the phone was locked. It locked me out for 15 minutes and it stated such. It was beta 1.

    Removing the amount of time was stupid. I don't understand why Apple would have done that.
     
  22. CyBeRino macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    #22
    You don't want attackers to have any information.
     
  23. thedeejay thread starter macrumors 65816

    thedeejay

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada.
    #23
    I basically ended up waiting 4 hours or so for it to unlock itself. I guess I left it charging on the doc and a family member tried to get onto it for music by guessing it. Screwed me over. Regardless it would've been nice to know I'm disabled for X minutes -_-

    To one of the above posters: I'm NOT complaining about the pass code or any security feature. I like that its there. I'm just pissed because it says you're locked out. My thought was "fine I'm locked out...but for how long?" Especially when they had this in iOS 6, I wouldn't think they would remove it. I guess they did for unknown reasons.
     
  24. 53kyle macrumors 65816

    53kyle

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Location:
    Sebastopol, CA
    #24
    iOS 6 actually said how long until you could get in when you tried putting in your code, I think.
     
  25. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #25
    Activate Control Centre from the lock screen, press play ;)
     

Share This Page