I'm looking for a lamp..

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by ohla313, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. ohla313 macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #1
    Figured this would be the best place to post..I am looking for a desk lamp to use at home and since all you mac guys got pretty nice setups at home, I was wondering if you would be able to aid me in my search.

    I am looking for a desk lamp with an outlet built into it so I can charge my iPhone or Macbook while using it. I really need a lamp with an outlet. I looked at IKEA, home depot, walmart, stapes...

    Any suggestions or ideas? I want to keep it under $50

    Thanks!
     
  2. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    A quick google search of lamp with outlet brought up a couple. Some hideous.

    This was on amazon[​IMG]

    link
     
  3. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for the help. Yea thats the problem the lamps I saw were either hideous or too expensive.
     
  4. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #4
    Oh come on, this being christmas and all... this is the lamp you are really looking for!! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  5. ohla313 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ohla313

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
  6. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #8
    That's not a lamp, it's a major award!
     
  7. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #9
    Wonder where the plug goes??
     
  8. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #10
    LOL!!




    If you find a good one under $50 let me know. I've owned 2 and both went bad in under a year
     
  9. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #11
    How can that be??

    It must have been the switch.

    I would recommend a switch in the cord. That way you can just replace the cord, and not the lamp.
     
  10. todd2000 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Location:
    Danville, VA
    #12
    I came in this thread JUST to post that, but you mean me too it! Curses!

    "Fragile" "Must Be Italian" :)
     
  11. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    #13
    Well both were rather cheap and while I used bulbs within operating spec, the sockets went bad on both. It could just be bad luck or possibly even my outlet.
     
  12. DewGuy1999 macrumors 68040

    DewGuy1999

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #14
    Are these just a regular lamp socket with a press or turn or pull chain switch like these:

    Brass Sockets - brass push, turn, & pullchain sockets

    if so, these are easy to replace and your lamp (award) would be as good as new, maybe better if you use a higher quality replacement socket.
     
  13. NickZac macrumors 68000

    NickZac

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

Share This Page