I'm new to mac...just wanted to know...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by IndyStarr, Jun 17, 2009.

1. IndyStarr macrumors newbie

is it easy to switch from PC to an iMac? can you download all the same things from the internet? I'm in school and I need it for that too. so will all my school programs work on an iMac?

was it easy for you, as a PC owner to switch?

just want to know before I buy one!

thanks!

IndyStarr

2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Nothing .exe works. You have to find equivalent programs.

3. old-wiz macrumors G3

It wasn't difficult for me. You can download, but you can't download windows software unless you're running bootcamp or a VM. School CD? If you mean programs, it would depend on if it's software for Windows or just data.

4. Vendo macrumors newbie

I'm on my first Mac ever and had similar worries until Sunday when I first starting using it. So far I'm really satisfied.

If you install Windows on a Mac, you can use that for anything needed and it will work exactly as you need for any Windows program. Otherwise, for web browsing, writing, and daily computer usage the Mac format is much faster and more convenient with my experience so far.

5. IndyStarr thread starter macrumors newbie

what about the game Age of Empires 3?? is it compatible? or do I need the windows setup?

6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

You need a Mac version. NOTHING .exe works.

7. IndyStarr thread starter macrumors newbie

dude! wth does that even mean? NOTHING exe works? or NOTHING. exe works tho.

8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Any file. With the extension ".exe" cannot run.

So any program. That you might have on Windows. Cannot run in OS X.

You can install Windows on your Mac (in Boot Camp or virtualization) and run them.

9. IndyStarr thread starter macrumors newbie

whats with all the periods? kinda hard to read when you put a period to end the sentence. before. its. even. over.

I get what your saying now tho!