Im on the fence. Could someone please help and answer a noobs annoying question?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Orecets, Oct 15, 2007.

1. Orecets macrumors newbie

I wanna buy a toy for myself, and I am new to all things mac. Ive done a fair amount of research, but there is just so much reading to do and i wanna BUY!

So I was for sure going to get an Ipod touch, thing is just too cool, and with a little effort, it can be even cooler. Then I started to wonder, the touch is just a scaled down Iphone right?

The Iphone has a camera and mic and isnt a whole lot more. I have no immediate intention of using it as a phone though, as I cant justify the monthly fee. Ive read on this forum in the sticky that you can fake an activation, and use the Iphones core functions, save for the phone part of course. So, wouldnt it be smarter to buy an Iphone and have a more robust device with the possibility of legit activation once im not such a poor bastard?

Is an Iphone with a faked activation pretty gimped? Is it capable of skype conversations over wifi? Can I email pictures to friends, and use the mic for dication or notes?

Sorry to annoy you guys, and I appreciate anyone who takes the time to reply. <3

2. danielforman macrumors regular

You can buy an iPhone and unlock it so you can use another sim in it and don't have to pay AT&T for your contract. There are also a lot of third part apps out there that you can install.

The only thing is though that you will have to be careful not to brick (make inoperable) your iPhone if you do unlock etc. This only occurs if you install the updates that Apple release. Although not all updates may brick your device some will like the latest 1.1.1 update. The only way to get round this is hold off a while updating your device and wait for the iPhone Dev community to come up with a way to get round the effects of the update.