I'm one of you!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Ram Purad, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Ram Purad macrumors newbie

Hello Everyone,

I just joined this forum. Seems like a great place to be.

I'm an event videographer who have been a PC user for all my life. After 10000 crashes and hang ups of my video editing software on PC, I've decided to make the switch (yup, they've lost one more). Today I ordered my mac pro.

I would like to learn the Leopard OS X. What is the best training resource you would recommand for that? Or, can I get by Leopard by reading the help topics in the system it self? Remember, I have no prior experience with Mac.

Also I would like to know if I should be doing anything in specific to transfer my media files (mp3's, wav's, avi's, jpg's, etc.) from PC. Based on apple's help site, it seems like a pretty straight forward process. Just need to connect my mac on the same network as PC and transfer the files to Mac over the network. Seems like I don't need to do some sort of a file formatting in order for those files to work in Mac as long as if I have the right software read those files. Please advise me if I need to be aware of anything else.

Thanks for your help in advance, I will be bugging you guys for a while until I get pretty familiar with Mac environment.

2. basesloaded190 macrumors 68030

basesloaded190

i think some of the best stuff to look at to get used to osx is on apple's site. they have a ton of videos on many of the different tips and tricks of leopard that are very easy to watch and understand. after seeing those, leopard is going to seem like a cake walk next to windows :p

3. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

welcome!