I'm sceptical about getting an i7

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ZakK, Nov 14, 2010.

1. ZakK macrumors newbie

Hey guys, this is my first time posting at the MacRumors forum :)

So I'm looking at getting a new 17" MBP as my primary machine. It'll be my first Mac, but I'm not new to the world of Mac.

I was going to get a 17" 2.66GHz i7. However, although this will be for general use too, it's mostly going to be for audio production and recording. I'll mostly be using Logic but I may branch out a little more when I get more experienced.

I've become a little sceptical though due to hearing lots of problems with people trying to use programs such as Pro Tools and Mainstage with the new i7. So I could get a 3.06GHz C2D instead, but I'm worried that it'll become 'dated'?

So I'm trying to figure out which to get. Do you think a lot of the i7's problems will be sorted soon? If you've used the i7 for recording and such, how have you found it? What would you recommend?

Sorry for the long post, but any help would be great :)

2. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

I have 0 issues with mine. The few that have problems shout loud online, or are just plain making the issue worse than it is. People really have become picky these days. I wouldnt buy the C2D, but Id rather have the i7/330m

3. autacraft Guest

17" 2.66GHz i7, 500gb 7200rpm - I have this machine and do a lot of sound production, photo editing and design work - Its an absolute gem and my main system nowadays, a real workhorse.

Go forth and purchase, you really wont be disappointed.

P.s - Not a single glitch on my machine since I got it. Runs like clockwork, and boy can she run!

Good luck!

4. Reelknead1 macrumors 6502

x2

I have a 15" i7 and do a decent amount of photo editing and some design stuff with out any issue. Best machine i have ever had!!!

5. ZakK thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for clearing that up guys :)

How much difference is there between 5400 Rpm and 7200 Rpm?