Resolved Im screwed right? UDID problem with ios 7

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by azz0r, Jul 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. azz0r macrumors member

    azz0r

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #1
    Hello,

    I bought my way into testing IOS7.

    Then my power button broke, I took it to Apple and they replaced the entire phone.

    I get home, hook it into itunes, restore from the ios7 image. It gets to activation and say that "the device is not registered as part of the iPhone develop program..." because I have a new UDID obviously.

    Then it turns out their dev center is closed because of the hacking.

    So now I have an iPhone that has ios7 that cant activate and I can't restore to ios6 because iTunes last backup was ios7.

    Anything I can do?
     
  2. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #2
    You can DFU restore to iOS 6, but not restore from your backup.
     
  3. zmagik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #3
    Wait for the developer page to be back up witch should take a few days
     
  4. azz0r thread starter macrumors member

    azz0r

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #4
    :( Living with an iPhone for a few days is crazy, maybe it'll be a good thing?
     
  5. zmagik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #5
    How are they going to register when the developer page is down
     
  6. adcx64 macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #6
    Good catch...
     
  7. zmagik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #7
    Downgrade to ios 6 and live without your backup for a few days then when developer page is up. Upgrade to iOS 7
     
  8. azz0r thread starter macrumors member

    azz0r

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #8
    Yeah thats the real kicker, as soon as its back I should be okay
     
  9. azz0r thread starter macrumors member

    azz0r

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #9
    Is it possible to backup an itunes backup?

    I want to make sure itunes doesn't wipe my ios 7 backup.
     
  10. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #10
    Looks like the only option is to live with iOS 6 until the dev site is back up.
     
  11. zmagik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #11
    Setup your iPhone as new
     
  12. zmagik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #12
    Then what other way?
     
  13. thegrants82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Location:
    Right here
    #13
    My bad, you were right. Set it up as new. The guy that said he was stuck with IOS 6 until the servers came bsck up was wrong.
     
  14. azz0r thread starter macrumors member

    azz0r

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    #14
    Okay so heres what I did, first, follow these instructions: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qtjga0Dp_GE

    Then iTunes lets you restore from this backup, which is a dropdown, on that dropdown old backups are listed.

    It seems when you upgrade to ios 7 itunes makes a specific ios6 backup for you to restore to.

    Sorted for now :) Thanks
     
  15. KdParker macrumors 601

    KdParker

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Location:
    Everywhere
    #15
    And how is he going to get the udid added in order to add iOS 7 without the dev site being up?
     
  16. zmagik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    #16
    He's going to wait for the dev site to be up
     
  17. Jab00 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Location:
    Boulder,CO
    #17
    I don't know if that has been mentioned but you can DFU back into iOS 6 (get ispw from online as well as one for iOS 7) and then you can option+update into iOS 7. Once you have that loaded you should be able to restore from your old backup correct? (please excuse me if I am wrong on this as I haven't had to deal with this in a while)
     
  18. charlituna macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    And then name that phone something other than what the old one was named. That way iTunes thinks they are two separate phones.
     
  19. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #19
    MOD NOTE: Closing the thread and marking as resolved. Report this message if further discussion is required.

    B
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page