Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Suspended
Original poster
Jul 25, 2011
I'm a huge tech-enthusiast.

I've decided that I want to actually LEARN to program apps, jailbreak tweaks, hacks, etc. instead of just just being the average consumer. I seriously want to get into this whole coding business and become a developer. I think that having a great passion for technology (and in this case, the iPhone), I could be a good developer...

I know I can't just start learning how to code in objective C... I'll probably end up starting with Javascript. I just need some guidance and figure out where I need to start with all this.

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong forum, but I thought I'd be able to get some opinions from actual developers here.

Should I start off by finding a good introductory book?

Last edited:

mobilehaathi

macrumors G3
Aug 19, 2008
The Anthropocene
You certainly could just start with ObjC, although I'd start with basic C then move into ObjC. Forget Javascript...

Last edited by a moderator:

Suspended
Original poster
Jul 25, 2011
You certainly could just start with ObjC, although I'd start with basic C then move into ObjC. Forget Javascript...

Hmm, I thought about doing that. What's the best way to learn, as a complete newbie? What do you think I should do to get started?

robvas

macrumors 68040
Mar 29, 2009
USA
This isn't a bad start:

DldQe.jpg

If you get frustrated with C, I'd play with Python or Ruby for a while.

Hexiii

macrumors 65816
Jun 30, 2011
Prague, Czech Republic
I've started learning about month ago. I bought the Kochan book which seems good, although the translation of the terms in coding isn't really exact, which is not your problem if you are going to buy the original one.

I really don't have any bigger problems understanding it and I haven't learned any language before.

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England