I'm starting to hate my pc, help please!!!!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by silbeej, Apr 24, 2007.

  1. silbeej macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #1
    Just a week ago, explorer.exe has been eating up my cpu usage. It started out using 50%, now it will use anywhere from 50 to 100%. I have to end the process, and start a new one. This isn't bad, but it could run all night or day while i'm at class and kill my processor. I can not fix this. I know a lot about computers, and not even i can fix it, nor can anyone i know. Looked all over the internet, and still nothing. I read that .avi files might do it, but i have it happening after .avi files, internet usage, and then, just browsing my hard drive when the window will lock up or display nothing. Anyone help me.

    I've got a MBP, and would ditch the pc except I can't afford a mac pro.:)

    Once again, any one help me, i'm going crazy
     
  2. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #2
    I would just use the MBP as a primary comp. I ditched my PC for a low end iBook and I still use it primarily.
     
  3. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #3
    Still using a PC even though you have a MBP? Why not just use the MBP? Your logic confuzzles me... :confused:
     
  4. SpookTheHamster macrumors 65816

    SpookTheHamster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #4
    I take it you've checked for any malware/viruses?

    Just backup and reinstall.
     
  5. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #5
    It's not trying to access a network share that isn't there anymore or anything daft like that is it?
     
  6. keysersoze macrumors 68000

    keysersoze

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    NH
  7. silbeej thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #7
    Ok,
    Reinstalled windows, ran a bazillion scanners for just about everything, and no luck so far. As i said, this just happened out of the blue, and then, i lost my network adapters, leading me to reinstall. I haven't ditched the pc cuz it is very very powerful, i've got three hard drives for all my media, and the MBP, while i love it and have completely lost all doubt with macs, can't really be left on all the time, and many of you will have to agree, they tend to melt when you try doing very power consuming things. the pc is the all around workhorse right now, MBP is fun no problems at all portable. Mac pro is what i would get, but apple needs a mid line desktop imo.
     
  8. After G macrumors 68000

    After G

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Why don't you get a laptop cooler? Then you don't have to shell out for a Mac Pro and your fingers won't melt off. :D
     
  9. eRondeau macrumors 6502a

    eRondeau

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    Canada's South Coast
    #9
    Out of sight, out of mind. You can either stop looking at the performance stats and just pretend everything is okay with it. Or, you can unplug it and take it outside and throw it in the river. Personally I'd go with option #2 -- you'll thank me later. :D
     
  10. shu82 macrumors 6502a

    shu82

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Rocket City, AL
    #10
    It might be IE itself. Have you considered using firefox 2? Maybe you should not try to stream and buffer 5 pornos at once:D . I prefer my mac for surfing(2 finger scroll!!!!!!!!), if you get flip4mac you can handle all the wma files out there.
     
  11. silbeej thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #11
    I use firefox, and it's not IE, its explorer.exe, not iexplore.exe, which is IE. Explorer.exe is whats responsible for displaying the taskbar, and windows that show the contents of drives, and that stuff, similar to finder is osx. I hate that i get so close to fixing it, and then bam, it shoots up and pisses me off again.
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12
    Sounds like the only way to get rid of you problem is to simply get rid of windows then. :p ;) Linux?
     

Share This Page