Im Stumped: Unlocked Tmobile iPhone 5 on AT&T

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by gotluck, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #1
    I'm failing to find anything useful from googling :(

    Purchased an unlocked tmobile iphone 5 from swappa

    Upon a full restore in itunes with my AT&T gophone Sim in, I receive "congratulations your iphone has been unlocked" popup in itunes like normal.

    Then a few days later, the phone gets an "activation required" popup, I sign into wifi and activates and all is well.

    Why is this happening?!

    It also happened previously, multiple times, when I had restored from a backup from a verizon iphone 4s. So this happens when restoring from backup and as new, fresh :-/

    Is my SIM bad? I've never really heard of that.
     
  2. ugcop macrumors 6502a

    ugcop

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
    #2
    Sounds more like a GoPhone problem than an Apple problem.
     
  3. gotluck thread starter macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #3
    Gophone fully supports the iPhone out of the box, haven't had this issue previously
    it uses the same APN as postpaid ATT

    I thought iPhones only needed to be activated once anyway? unless you change the SIM?
     
  4. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #4
    Maybe the backup could be causing an issue? Did you set the phone up as "new?"
     
  5. gotluck thread starter macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #5
    yea, restored as new 2 nights ago, just received an activation popup just now, so it did perform 'better' than restoring from the backup.

    It never fails activation either, strangest thing.
     

Share This Page