iMac 10.5.8 suddenly blocking random sites - RESOLVED!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by JulesKD, Sep 4, 2010.

  1. JulesKD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #1
    This is weird. All of a sudden, as of yesterday, I can't access some of my usual websites, such as deviantart.com.

    Everyone else in the household, using the same server, can access it. But this computer suddenly can't - on any browser.

    I've cleared every cache, every cookie, and reinstalled Firefox to see if that helped. It didn't.

    I've seen references to proxies and such. If I use an anonymous proxy (such as hidemyass.com) I can access the site, I can even sign in. But I can't use any of the functions.

    HELP! Why would it do this all of a sudden and how can I fix it?

    Thanks!

    Jules
     
  2. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Well what sort of message comes up when you try to access your usual sites? Does just not load or what? :confused:
     
  3. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #3
    On Firefox it says:

    Unable to connect


    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at deviantart.com.




    * The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
    moments.

    * If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
    connection.

    * If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
    that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
    "


    It says that for all the sites it suddenly can't access.

    On Safari it says:
    "Safari can’t connect to the server.
    Safari can’t open the page “http://deviantart.com/” because Safari can’t connect to the server “deviantart.com”."

    Thanks for answering! :)
     
  4. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #4
    Anyone else have any tips?I have re-reinstalled browsers and still nothing is letting me me access my pages.
     
  5. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #5
    Installed anything recently? Such as a firewall or anti-virus?
     
  6. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #6
    check and make sure that under your network settings (airport or ethernet) that the DNS server is the address for your router OR is set to the primary DNS server of your ISP.

    We switched to a new ISP and had a computer that had the old ISPs DNS server manually entered. That computer could access some domains and not others.

    Worth a shot anyway.
     
  7. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #7
    Thank you, guys. Nothing is new; I haven't installed anything (or at least, I hadn't until after this happened.) I haven't switched to a new ISP in years.

    One thing that did happen was that another person brought over their laptop and used the wireless in this house. But none of the other computers had a problem with these pages. Would that change anything?

    Thanks for any and all suggestions. :)

    ETA: I changed where it says "DNS server" to the same number where it says "router" and that didn't help.
     
  8. i3iMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #8
    Is your java up to date?

    Tried restarting your router?
     
  9. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #9
    I did update Java after this happened.

    But I'm not sure how to restart the router? The thing is, the other computers which use the same router don't have this problem. And, it's a brand new problem, seemingly out of nowhere.

    I'm really scratching my head here.
     
  10. i3iMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #10
    to restart the router, simply unplug it for about 20 seconds and then plug it back in.
     
  11. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
  12. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #12
    Still no luck. But thanks for the suggestion. :)
     
  13. i3iMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #13
    Do you have Peer Guardian installed? If so, uninstall it.
     
  14. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
  15. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #15
    Just tried it. Still no dice! I also noticed that my browsers are both running really slowly.
     
  16. i3iMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #16
    Find the PEERGUARDIAN Folder in the /Library/StartupItems Folder, delete it (Drag it to the Trash) and restart OSX.

    When you removed it did you drag pguninstall.sh to a terminal window? That seems to be the best way to do it.
    If you didn't do that, you should download PG again and drag the pguninstall.sh to the terminal window or if that doesn't work reinstall PG and THEN drag pgunstinall.sh to a terminal window and it should be ok. I'd recommend not using this program unless it's absolute necessity to you. It has potential to mess up a lot of functions of OSX.
     
  17. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #17
    Hmm, well I just manually trashed it from Applications. It doesn't seem to be in my startup items folder, but it has always started up when the computer starts.

    Maybe I'll try re-installing and un-installing again. Let you know if it works.

    Thanks!
     
  18. JulesKD thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #18
    YES! I downloaded Peersniper and shot PG out of the water. Even the uninstaller didn't work.

    THANK YOU. I can now get back to my pages. It's strange that this happened all of a sudden like this. I've had PG on my computer practically since I got it. Though I'm not even sure what PG does aside from protect your computer from third parties seeing the things you download.

    Anyway, thanks for all the help! ^_^
     
  19. i3iMac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    #19
    You're welcome :) Good to see you are up and running again.
     
  20. jkmls macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    #20
    The problem is solved

    I had the same problem these past few days. I followed i3iMac instruction and deleted:D PEERGUARDIAN from both Application folder and Library folder. The problem is solve. Thank you all so much.

    A foolish(?) question: Should I reinstall PG?:D
     

Share This Page