Imac 2.8ghz 24'' CPU Swap?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by sammcj, May 10, 2009.

  1. sammcj macrumors member

    sammcj

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi All,

    I have a Mid 08' iMac 2.8ghz 24''.
    I've done a hard disk swap and am now considering doing a CPU swap.

    What i'm looking at is: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz.

    Does anyone know if it will just go straight in without modding?
     
  2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #2
    No. iMacs use laptop processsors. That's a desktop one. Different pin layout, different power requirements.
     
  3. sammcj thread starter macrumors member

    sammcj

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    So what would be a decent upgrade option?
    I just feel the 2.8 is lacking in grunt...
     
  4. mstam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #4
  5. sammcj thread starter macrumors member

    sammcj

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
  6. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    Apart from ordering a Mac Pro, the only available CPU upgrade is an E8435 3.06GHz processor.

    http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Intel-CORE2...5|66:2|65:12|39:1|240:1318|301:1|293:1|294:50

    While its not terribly expensive at just under $300, its a devil of a procedure to upgrade for less than 10% CPU performance improvement.
     
  7. myuserid08 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    #7
    I thought the processor was soldered onto the logicboard
     
  8. sammcj thread starter macrumors member

    sammcj

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
  9. mstam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    #10
    The iMac is a very compact all-in-one computer w/ notebook parts. If you want desktop parts, a Mac Pro or PC would be a better choice.
     
  10. sammcj thread starter macrumors member

    sammcj

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    Windows / PC lacks in workflow
    Mac pro lacks in price

    Should be able to get a decent grunty enough mac for NZ$3000 but you're still stuck with basic hardware.

    Anyway, this is not the place to complain.
     
  11. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #12
    So don't complain that your 2.8 is lacking in grunt or the Mac Pro is too expensive.
     
  12. sammcj thread starter macrumors member

    sammcj

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    If you bothered to read the post properly, I was asking a question on CPU swaps, not flaming Apple although it does annoy me in the lack of upgradability.

    -You don't have to post so if you don't like what you read - Leave rather than trolling.
     
  13. zachkowalchuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    #14
    If you find a 2.8ghz Core 2 Duo lacking for your needs, of course people are going to tell you to get a faster mac. There is really no point in upgrading the CPU as you would get maybe a 10% CPU performance boost. And the time and effort to pull apart the iMac to install it is pointless for that 10 % IMO.
     

Share This Page