iMac 2.8GHz or 3.06GHz with similar configuration

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by htchang1987, Feb 3, 2009.

1. htchang1987 macrumors member

Planning to buy an iMac after deciding that I don't really need the portability of the Macbook Pro. However, having problem deciding between the 2.8GHz and the 3.06GHz models, I am here seeking for advice.

Firstly, talking about the tasks that I am going to do with a new iMac, I am a moderate gamer who does play games during some free times, also, as a undergraduate student, I do norming school stuffs and surfing the net. Sometimes I will do some photoshop-ing for some poster design or other design related things but not much. However, most importantly, I watch a lot of movies or tv shows on a computer therefore I will go for the 24" model for the comfort of entertainment.

I know all the tasks that I will be doing will not require me to buy the top end of the iMac line. However, my thinking is that if I go for the 3.06GHz model, I might not be too outdated if the iMac is going to be refreshed in the very near future. But, thinking from the price point of view, I do also considering to go for the 2.8GHz model, but I am also seeking advice if I were to go for the 2.8GHz model, it is better for me to upgrade to the NVIDIA GeForce 8800GS card and a 4Gb RAM, since I will be playing some games on it?

Very confused right now. Do both of the machines have significant difference in speed? I can't imagine very well as I have not yet played on such a fast computer since I started to use a 1.83GHz C2D PC 2 yrs ago. Or you guys out there really recommend me to be patient for the upcoming refresh of the iMac line? Looking forward for your reply. Thank you very much.

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution