iMac 20" 2.4GHz - Max RAM

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Josh Kahane, Feb 17, 2009.

  1. Josh Kahane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    #1
    Hi

    I know this has been posted before, about other iMacs but I want to be sure as I couldn't find a clear answer.

    I have just bought an iMac, 20" 2.4GHz version.

    I know Apple says it will take a maximum of 4Gbs, but it can take more can't it? If so, what its maximum unsupported amount? Thanks.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Offically it takes 4GB but unoffically 6GB. Why would you need more than 4GB?

    It's recommended to put 2 similar RAM sticks to iMac and you can't do it with 6GB. And people who got 6GB to work didn't notice any difference.

    Put 4GB and you'll be fine. Buy it from Crucial
     
  3. Josh Kahane thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Suffolk, UK
    #3
    Ok thanks, guess I'll stick with 4GB, it should make a difference from 2GBs shouldn't it? :)
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Yea it should. Check your memory usage before buying. If it's over 70-80% buy more.
     
  5. evirob macrumors member

    evirob

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Singapore
    #5
    I think you'll can only feel a big difference if u are running fusion or parallels...
     
  6. jhilla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #7
    6GB is easily achievable, check the guys at iupgrade.to

    I considered it but 4GB is generally alot for most people. I used to use Parrallels on my MB2.slow with only 2GB.
     
  7. Drumerdude macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #8
    i didn't know that an imac could hold up to 6gb of memory. 4gb is working fine for me so I have no need to upgrade.
     

Share This Page