iMac 20" MA589LL/A new in box

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by oldhifi, Mar 20, 2014.

  1. oldhifi, Mar 20, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2014

    oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    IMac 20" Display MA589LL/A (2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 1 GB RAM, 250 GB Hard Drive, SuperDrive

    The guy is wanting $350, it is new in the box, never configured, is it worth it?

    also can I upgrade to Snow Leopard?
     
  2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

    rkaufmann87

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Location:
    Folsom, CA
    #2
    If it's really new in the box sure it's worth it and yes you can install SL, I'd max out the RAM though. What is the model year?
     
  3. oldhifi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    I don't know I will ask, and thanks!!
     
  4. thedeske macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    #4

    Late 2006 white iMac - tops out with sys 10.7.5 (shipped with 10.4.7)
    orig price was 1499.00

    The price is close to what used units go for now, so new is a really good deal (assuming it is)
     
  5. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #5
    MA589LL/A is a Late 2006 20-inch iMac.
    (7 years in the box (?) - it would be nice to know if it even turns on ? )
     
  6. Rottweiler01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
  7. oldhifi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I should get it Monday. So all I need to do is format Tiger HD and clean install SL from my Apple purchased 10.6.3 SL disk?
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
  9. oldhifi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #9

    anyone?
     
  10. Lefty21 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Location:
    Lexington, KY
    #10
    Yes this should work fine. I second the recommendation on upgrading the RAM.
     
  11. Beachguy macrumors 6502a

    Beachguy

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
  12. RedCroissant Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #12
    Yeah, that's awesome if it really is new.
     
  13. oldhifi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #13
    New Old Stock

    Yep new in the box, I am having fun setting it up. I installed SL, works great
     
  14. Aameiel macrumors regular

    Aameiel

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    Cape Coral, FL
  15. RedCroissant Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #15
    That's awesome! Would you care to post any photos?
     
  16. oldhifi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #16
    New Imac

    Pictures of my new Imac, not too good with the camera.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. oldhifi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #17
    4GB now .. a lot faster... I wish Apple would not tighten the screws for the ram door so tight..
     
  18. RedCroissant Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #18
    Nice!! Of course that would be expected compared to the 1GB! That's really awesome!
     

Share This Page