iMac 20" or 4 Core Mac Pro.which to purchase?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by rhythman, Feb 19, 2008.

1. rhythman macrumors newbie

hello again friends

The time has come to purchase a new computer. I'm vacilating between the iMac 20" or 4 Core mac pro. It's a good place to be. :)

I'm a drummer/percussionist and very much a newbie to digital recording. I'll be recording with 4 - 8 mics. I'll most likely be using ProTools and Logic as well. I'll also be creating DVDs here at my home studio, most probably with Final Cut. So, which machine to purchase? The difference in price will be about $850, including a monitor if I get the Pro.

Any and all advice is most assuredly welcome.

Chuck S
    Los Angeles, CA

2. Tarkovsky macrumors 6502

Tarkovsky

I don't think computing power will hold you back on the imac. In terms of expandability the pro is better for sure, but for recording purposes get some good mics, pres, a dacs and interface first. 850 of your puny american $ will get you on the way to that.

3. rhythman thread starter macrumors newbie

reply iMac or Pro

Thanks for the quick response. How about for crunching DVD data, concerning the iMac vs. the Mac Pro 4 core?

Chuck

4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

For what you're doing, the Pro without a doubt. More room for internal drives and you can fit a lot more memory (crucial for audio / video work). Plus you have another 2 cores of course!

5. rhythman thread starter macrumors newbie

iMac or 4 core

This is what I figured. But...as always...more opinions. I work at a Musicians Institute here in LA (http://mi.edu) and there are so many differing opinions for musicians and engineers though! Wow. I'd say it's 50/50 between the two machines. So, I'm just going to wait a few more days to get more opinions, then jump in.

Thanks, as always.

6. 3rdpath macrumors 68000

3rdpath

2nd star on the right and straight till morning
    i'm gonna vote for the pro also.