iMac 2006 memory use

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RobertJB, Jun 6, 2016.

  1. RobertJB macrumors member

    RobertJB

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Hi I hold a 2006 iMac 5.1
    I fitted 4 Gb of memory in the system although the spec's state that the iMac can only address 3 Gb.

    Now I have this iMac running 10.105 with the boot.fi.

    Does this re-lease the 3 Gb limit as the systems is now running as a 64 bit system?

    See the attached screen shoots of the system.
    Can any one direct me to a tool that will tell me if the iMac is using the extra Gb or just the 3 Gb it is designed to use.

    thanks,

    Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 00.03.52.png Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 00.04.05.png Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 00.03.25.png
     
  2. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #2
    I remember in ML Activity Monitor would show that only 3 GB are mapped, but it doesn't seem liek this is the case here. That 3 GB limit is true though.
     
  3. RobertJB thread starter macrumors member

    RobertJB

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2013
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    When I boot in 10.7.5 I see the 3 Gb limit but in 10.10.5 this is not the case.
    I'm under the impression that it is something simulair as with Windows XP only being able to handle3 Gb due to the 32 bit OS.
     
  4. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
  5. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #5
    OS X is 64-bit only since 10.7.
     

Share This Page