iMac 2007 core2duo i7

Discussion in 'iMac' started by HappyMBAowner, May 14, 2017.

  1. HappyMBAowner macrumors member

    HappyMBAowner

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec
    #1
    Hi,
    I have an iMac 2007 core2duo i7 that has started to be quite slow recently. I stil can use Logic Pro X on it, but it is getting at the end of its pro line usage. Otherwise, my mac is in excellent shape, since I take care a lot of my computers. It still looks brand new. If I were to revert to the initial configuration, would it recover it's initial speed (or close) and could I continue using it for basic email, web surfing and a few card games? I will get another mac for my pro software, but I find it a real waste not to be able to use my iMac 2007 for other usages. Selling is not an option. Putting my iMac in the garbage is not an option I'll consider due to environmental issues. I recycle 'old' iPhones because I am mad at all electronics going into the garbage around the world. That should not be allowed.

    Thanks for your advice.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    HDD likely failing due to age. Replace with SSD to increase longevity.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    OP:

    What version of the OS are you using on it?
    You should realize that the more recent versions (from Mavericks on up) seem to run much slower on Macs with platter-based hard drives than do previous versions (such as Mountain Lion).

    I'm also going to guess that after nearly ten years, your internal hard drive is hopelessly "fragmented" (not just files, but fragments of "free space" as well). DO NOT be misled by the postings of others here who will proffer that Macs "do not need to be defragmented" -- ALL platter-based drives suffer from this problem over time.

    There's an easy way to get rid of the file and free space fragmentation. Just do this:
    1. Download CarbonCopyCloner (or SuperDuper). Both are FREE to download and use for 30 days.
    2. Use CCC (or SD) to create a bootable cloned backup of your internal drive on an external drive.
    3. Next, BOOT FROM the cloned backup.
    4. Re-initialize the internal drive using Disk Utility
    5. Now, RE-clone the backup BACK TO the internal.
    When you do this, all the files will be re-written contiguously (no fragmentation), and no free space between them.

    It takes a little time to do a full clone, and then a "clone back", but I'll bet you notice an improvement in running afterwards.

    Final thought (and you knew this was coming):
    After 10 years, it's time to start looking for something new (or at least newER).
     
  4. HappyMBAowner thread starter macrumors member

    HappyMBAowner

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec
    #4
    Good idea. I had thought about that. I'll keep it in my pool of ideas.
    --- Post Merged, May 14, 2017 ---
    --- Post Merged, May 14, 2017 ---
    -I'm using the latest El Capitan version - Sierra is not compatible with my model.
    -Your point confirms my impression that reverting to older Mac OSX versions would help.
    -I was sure you didn't need to defragment under Mac OS. I may try that. But I guess reinitialize and going back to original settings would do the that. What do you think?
    -I have a newer 2013 MBA which runs my Logic Pro X very smoothly. That's the reason I want to use the MBA for for my pro software in the future and keep my old iMac for web browsing and other simpler tasks. Is that a good idea? I will also buy eventually a brand new, latest version of an iMac or a MacBook pro for my logic pro projects. I like to keep LogicPro on a separate computer because when I produce music, I don't want to bothered by anything else.

    A million thanks for your great advice!
     
  5. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #5
    I also have the 2007 model. I am still running snow leopard but all software stop to support it so is a dead os (chrome has also stopped the support). I don't want to update because i love the OS and spaces way too much.

    I suggest you to put an ssd (120-250 gb are cheap) to run el capitan because with a normal hdd it is realy slow.
     
  6. ApolloBoy macrumors 6502a

    ApolloBoy

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #6
    FYI there's no such thing as a "Core 2 Duo i7".
     
  7. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 65816

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #7
    The i5 and i7 were introduced with the late 2009 iMac.
     
  8. HappyMBAowner thread starter macrumors member

    HappyMBAowner

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec
    #8
    ok. got it.
    --- Post Merged, May 16, 2017 ---
    ok got it. Any suggestions to answer my question?
     
  9. padams35 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    #9
    - MacOS does a good job at keeping itself defragmented but I find that either a defragmentation or a reformat/clean install is still helpful about every 3rd OS upgrade.
    - Yosemite/Mavericks/Mountain Lion might run faster if one of those is available. I'd recommended not trying to run anything older because then web browser compatibility starts to become and issue.
    - Alternatively consider installing Linux. You can always try that out by burning and booting Live DVDs.
     
  10. sboychuck macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    #10
    I have an old 2008 17-inch MacBook Pro, and 2009 24-inch iMac. They are both still working and just recently installed a Crucial MX300 525GB SSD into both. They both run on El Capitan and they work just fine. They are both now my 10-year old daughters computers, and they work fine for her needs. I have a USB connected enclosure attached to each to do Time Machine and CCC backups. These are the first two Mac's I have ever had and keeping them until they finally go critical and are not usable. Comparing the cost of new ones to doing minimal upgrades to these, the SSD route was the best.
     
  11. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #11
    How much memory do you have, and can you add memory to get to 6 Gb? or at least 4?

    Agree that swapping the HDD for an SSD is probably your best way to keep the machine running for a while. It doesn't have to be an expensive SSD, pretty much anything ought to work.
     
  12. transam7816 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #12
    Definitely listen to Post #2. I have a 2007 2.4 ghz core 2 duo 4 gb of ram. At a point, my pc was going to ****...so slow to boot up, would take a while to open apps. I had done a restore but it was back at it in no time. So I bought a ssd instead. It fixed all my problems and made it run like brand new again. This is a mid 2007..so it's almost 10 years old. Buy an ssd..you won't regret it.
     
  13. UL2RA Suspended

    Joined:
    May 7, 2017
    #13
    SSD upgrade ... it will be like getting a new computer.
     
  14. windowpain macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #14
    Seconded (or is it thirded..)
    This will be the single biggest way to breathe new life into the machine.
    Also if you can, max out the ram, it will stop the computer accessing the disk as frequently and speed things up.

    Check out the ifixit.com site for a step-by-step guide to replacing the drive.
    You need to take off the screen and uncouple some cables, but it doesn't seem so hard, take it slowly and you will have no problems at all.
     
  15. HappyMBAowner thread starter macrumors member

    HappyMBAowner

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec
    #15
    I've maxed the RAM about two years after purchasing it initially. But after reading about many people's positive experience with SSD, I'll go that route. In the past, it used to be expensive to change the SSD. Nowadays, 1TB seems to cost less than US$400. It used to be so close to buy a new computer (or refurb) that I was not sure if the investment was worth it. But now, it's definitely worth it. With 480gb (US$208), I'll be completely happy.
    --- Post Merged, May 18, 2017 ---
    Thanks to everybody for being so helpful.
    --- Post Merged, May 18, 2017 ---
    I'm already at 4 gb max.
    --- Post Merged, May 18, 2017 ---
    I was told to try linux also. I thought about it. But I have other priorities. This would consume too much time for me learning to adapt and I could not continue using my pro software. Linus has options for music production and graphic design, but I don't really have time to invest learning other types of software. That's why either I get my iMac going for a few years, or I just keep it to play card games. But I'll try with replacing my drive with an SSD since many people report very positive experience with that option.
    --- Post Merged, May 18, 2017 ---
    I'll go with the replacement of my drive with an SSD. I already have a mba 2013 that runs super fast. I want to keep this excellent 2007 machine going for a few years. I hate to send machines like this to waste. For environmental reasons, for financial reasons, and for sentimental reasons. My iMac 2007 still impresses people and honestly, even if I use my mba a lot, I still like my big 21" display. The iMac 2007 is a beautiful computer.
     
  16. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #16
    Wikipedia suggests that you can take the memory to 6 Gb, presumably 2+4, and that might help a little bit as well. The SSD upgrade should make a massive difference and I think you will be pleased with the results.
     
  17. 2457244 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    #17
    What about a new computer?

    Don't be ashamed to step into an Apple Store and ask for a new Mac, they won't judge you for being a fanboy after 10 years.
     
  18. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #18
    Perhaps you're volunteering to make up the price difference between a 500 Gb SSD and that new iMac? :)
     
  19. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #19
    I have a 2007 imac 2.0GHz core2duo.
    6GB ram and SSD going in soon.

    Depending on what CPU you CAN run sierra (but you need change your wifi card for wifi to work).
    I am going to upgrade my CPU (got it already)

    they might be old machines but it keeps on kicking much longer than any windows based crap I had.

    I got a 64GB SSD to go in (got it free) and got the optical bay adapter so a 500GB drive going in there.
    Just beware optical bay is IDE not sata speed.
     
  20. HappyMBAowner thread starter macrumors member

    HappyMBAowner

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Location:
    Quebec
    #20
    You took the words out of my mouth.
    --- Post Merged, May 19, 2017 ---
    hum... after all that's been said in the thread, you are serious?
     
  21. gian8989 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2015
    #21
    Don't worry. People just like to read the title.

    As i said before just put an SSD and you will be ok. If you already have 4gb of ram don't buy new ram to make 6gb (it costs a lot and not worth it for the use of this imac)
     
  22. Fishrrman, May 19, 2017
    Last edited: May 19, 2017

    Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #22
    OP wrote (in post 4)
    "But I guess reinitialize and going back to original settings would do the that. What do you think?"

    The only way to defrag ALL files and remove the fragmented free space between them is to do either of the following:
    1. Boot externally and run defrag app on the internal drive
    or
    2. Follow the process I outlined in post 3 above.

    A fresh reinstall of the OS -also- produces a fragmented drive (there will be fragments of "free space" scattered all around).
    One cannot see this UNLESS one runs a defrag app and examines the sectors of the drive.

    Really, if you want "a faster Mac", you really have only one workable pathway to walk.
    Also mentioned in post 3 above.
     
  23. nandor690 macrumors regular

    nandor690

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    #23
    which cpu did you got. I got the T9300 and the wifi/bluetooth card for BT 4.0 and 802.11ac. everything works great. even night shift and unlocking with apple watch
     
  24. Fabmac, May 27, 2017
    Last edited: May 27, 2017

    Fabmac macrumors member

    Fabmac

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    #24
    I have the same machine,(with ssd) Clap hands!
    I got an new Air now, and holy cow, it's a complete other thing
    If your are doing video, tell me how, because it drives me mad how slow it was at the of the day,
    I also use a lot lr and it was bad
    Usb3, faster computer, sierra.
    I got the whole setup connected to an external screen (much better than the crappy iMac screen)

    At some point, machines keep working but they are simply outdated.
    My friend got an original macintosh, and iMac G4 they all work well but not for a serious usage.

    I recycle a lot, and apple does the same, upgrading does not mean throwing things away.
     
  25. Maxx Power macrumors 6502a

    Maxx Power

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    #25
    You can always use the machine as a guest computer, a streaming video computer for the kitchen or bedroom or sell it to others who still uses these things as office computers or whatever. I have old Core Duo minis and Core 2 Duo PCs that are still being used as living room computers and bedroom computers, essentially for just casual browsing and streaming.
     

Share This Page